Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian

English 496: English Capstone

Resources for students working on their English Capstone projects.

Finding Journal Articles with MLAIB

MLAIB IconEbscoHost is a collection of databases containing newspaper, magazine, book, and journal citations and articles; many articles are full-text.

* Link goes to MLA International Bibliography basic search. You can add other relevant databases.

* Use Advanced Search.

* Choose the Peer-Reviewed (Scholarly) box to retrieve peer-reviewed articles


Find a DISSERTATION OR THESIS that you want to use?

proquest icon

Use ProQuest Dissertation and Theses to get full-text in most cases.


Using Google Scholar Effectively

Google ScholarSearch Tips: 

* When searching on-campus, the results list will automatically display a Find It @WVU link.

* Use setting (gear wheel) to set WVU Libraries as your default Google Scholar library.

* Be aware that articles found through Google Scholar are not necessarily peer-reviewed or scholarly.

Google Scholar also offers citation export.

Google Scholar Search

JSTOR and ProjectMuse

JSTOR has full-text scholarly articles from journals in many disciplines.

* For best results, use the Advanced Search

* To retrieve only articles, not reviews, make sure you click on the box next to Articles.

* Narrow results by date


ProjectMuse has full-text scholarly articles from many journals in the humanities.

* Choose the Advanced Search link

* Click on Journals/ Articles from the side menu

* Narrow results by date