Research Guides: English 200: Foundations of Literary Study: Get Articles

Finding Journal Articles with EbscoHost

EbscoHost is a collection of databases containing newspaper, magazine, book, and journal citations and articles; many articles are full-text.

Choose MLA International Bibliography and other databases relevant to your research:

Choose the Peer-Reviewed (Scholarly) box to retrieve peer-reviewed articles

ProjectMuse has full-text scholarly articles from many journals in the humanities.

Choose Books and Journals, Books, or Journals from the drop-down menu.
Type search terms into box.
On the results page, click Only Content I Have Full Access To box.
Narrow results by choosing the appropriate Research Area on the left-hand side of screen

Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides searchable, full text access to more than 100 academic journals. It covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.

JSTOR has full-text scholarly articles from journals in many disciplines.

For best results, use the Advanced Search
If you want only articles, make sure you click on the box next to Articles.
You can restrict By Discipline: Language and Linguistics and Literature are some suggested choices.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an archive of more than 1,000 scholarly, interdisciplinary journals, with full coverage for all but the most current 3-5 years. The entire archive is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

Search Tips:

When searching on-campus, the results list will automatically display a Find It @WVU link.
Use Setting (gear wheel) to set WVU Libraries as your default Google Scholar library.
Be aware that not every article found through Google Scholar is not necessarily peer-reviewed or scholarly.

Google Scholar also offers citation export.

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
ILLiad is used to request materials not owned by the WVU Libraries. Log in with your WVU ID and Password. First-time users will need to answer a few questions before requesting.
Find it @ WVU
Have a citation and need to find an article. a book, dissertation, or patent? Use Citation Linker @ WVU. Just enter the citation information into the form.
E-Z Borrow
Use E-ZBorrow to borrow books from other area university libraries. Books can be kept for 6 weeks and renewed for another 6 weeks. Log in with your WVUID and password.