Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This tutorial will take you through the database search features.
Use these databases to search for books and journal articles
Academic Search Complete
Offers a good starting point for research on nearly any topic, covering most areas of academic study and containing full text for 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals.
Education Research Complete
Education Research Complete is an online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals, as well as full text for more than 750 journals, and includes full text for more than 100 books and monographs, and for numerous education-related conference papers.
is sponsored by the US Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. In addition, ERIC provides coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. Comprehensive coverage of the journal and report literature in the field of education.
WVU Libraries online catalog; use it to find books, articles, periodicals, microforms, and A/V media owned by the libraries.
Featured Children's Author
Meet Marc Harshman
Until ten years ago Marc Harshman taught fifth and sixth grades at the Sand Hill School, one of the last of the three-room country schools. Raised in Indiana, he has lived his adult life in West Virginia with his wife, Cheryl Ryan (author, artist, & librarian), and his twentry-year-old daughter, Sarah. The author of eleven picture books for children, he is also a poet and storyteller. His children's books have been published in Spanish, Korean, Danish, and Swedish. ONLY ONE was a Reading Rainbow review title on PBS TV and THE STORM was a Junior Library Guild selection, a Smithsonian Notable Book for Children, a Children's Book Council Notable Book for Social Studies, and a 1995 Parent's Choice Award recipient. "Booklist" has called this same title "a knowing book that will speak to all children about self-image and hard-won success." Mr. Harshman was honored in 1994 by receiving the Ezra Jack Keats / Kerlan Collection Fellowship from the University of Minnesota for research on Scandinavian myth and folklore. He was also named the West Virginia state English teacher of the year by the West Virginia English Language Arts Council in 1995. More recently he was named the recipient of the WV Arts Commission Fellowship in Poetry for the year 2000 and the Fellowship in Children’s Literature for 2008. He holds degrees from Bethany College, Yale University Divinity School, and the University of Pittsburgh.
His newest children’s book is ONLY ONE NEIGHBORHOOD, (co-authored & illustrated by Barbara Garrison, 2007.) This newest title is being hailed as the “rich companion to the classic ONLY ONE.” Other recent children’s titles include ROADS (Cavendish, 2002) and RED ARE THE APPLES (Harcourt, 2001), the latter co-written with his wife, Cheryl Ryan. His third chapbook of poems, LOCAL JOURNEYS, has recently been published by the Finishing Line Press [Cincinnati, OH]. Additional children’s stories may also be found in Cricket Magazine.
Mr. Harshman is represented by Liza Pulitzer-Voges of Kirchoff / Wohlberg, Inc.
PO Box 2111
Wheeling, WV 26003
Text and photo taken from Marc Harshman website - http://www.marcharshman.com/
Use these databases to search for biographical information pertaining to Authors and Illustrators
Image from History of Children's Literature: A Bibliography
When searching the electronic databases if you do not locate author or illustrator you seek please consult these reference books located at the Evansdale Library --- Something About the Author, Major Authors and Illustrators for Children and Young Adults, and Who's Who in Children's Literature.
MLA International Bibliography
Literature, language, linguistics, folklore references from the Modern Language Association. Includes references to journal articles, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Although full text is not included in the MLA Bibliography, the Find it @ WVU service provides links to full text from other databases when available.
Gale Literature Resource Center
Full-text literary criticism and reviews and author biographical information on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Plot summaries, author biographies, book reviews and critical analyses of frequently studied works of literature. The database provides electronic access to the complete contents of 31 sets of reference books, including nearly 20 Masterplots and Masterplots II titles, the Cyclopedia of World Authors, the Cyclopedia of Literary Characters, as well as 10 years of Magill's Literary Annuals and Magill Book Reviews.