It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Coaching and Performance Science major in the College of Physical Activity and Sport Sciences at WVU provides students with an opportunity to study coaching, the important role that coaches have in society, and the science behind successful coaching
Welcome to the library resources guide for students researching Coaching and Performance Science topics. The purpose of this guide is to highlight some of the key resources for conducting library research in this discipline. I hope you will find these resources useful.
I am also available for private research consultation. My contact information is on the right, in the profile box. Please feel free to contact me for any further assistance.
Resources are arranged by category and can be accessed by selecting from the tabs above
SPORTDiscus offers bibliographic and some full-text coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains over 600,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800. The content also consists of multi-disciplinary, international references from journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and more. SPORTDiscus is provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre. International database with abstracts on sports, physical education, outdoor recreation, physical activity, and leisure literature. Related databases included in the subscription and covering the same subject area include Heracles (1975-1997) a French language database, Atlantes (1980-1996), a Spanish language database, and Catalogue du Musee Olympique, a catalog of the Olympic Museum in Switzerland.
Sports Medicine & Education Index provides scholarly and trade literature from 1970 to the present for physical education. CSA Sports Medicine & Education Index allows all researchers and professionals in the field to acquire accurate and scholarly information in this comprehensive database. These abstracts feature a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology. Health education and physical therapy are also covered
is sponsored by the US Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. In addition, ERIC provides coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. Comprehensive coverage of the journal and report literature in the field of education.
Offers a good starting point for research on nearly any topic, covering most areas of academic study and containing full text for 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals.
Search for Books
To search for books about your topic use World Cat.
Library catalog for locating and accessing resources across multiple libraries. Best for finding items to request from another library.
WVU Libraries Plagiarism Quiz
You can watch this tutorial, which covers plagiarism basics and some finer points as well, and then take the quiz as a guest. If you decide to register your class, students can take the quiz and send the results to you.