Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dietary Supplement Information
Annual Bibliographies of Significant Advances in Dietary Supplement Research
These publications by the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements and the Consumer Healthcare Products Association present significant research (top 25 articles) in the dietary supplement field for the years 1999 - 2007.
Dietary Supplements (MedlinePlus)
This site from the National Library of Medicine has links to the latest news regarding supplements, general overviews of supplements, specific conditions for which supplements are used, and law and policy concerning supplements.
Dietary & Herbal Supplements (NCCIH)
Sponsored by the National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH). The Herbs at a Glance Series is particularly good.
Drugs, Herbs and Supplements (MedlinePlus)
MedlinePlus includes consumer information on over 100 herbs and supplements from The American Society of Health-System Pharmacists. Each monograph contains evidence-based, peer-reviewed data, and many contain illustrations. References are also included.
Herbs at a Glance
Herbs at a Glance is a series of brief fact sheets that provides basic information about specific herbs or botanicals—common names, what the science says, potential side effects and cautions, and resources for more information.
Herbs, Botanicals, and other Products
Sponsored by Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, this site provides objective, evidence-based information about herbs, botanicals, vitamins, and other supplements. Contains clinical summaries, adverse effects, interactions, and potential benefits. They have a beautiful app for iPhone/iPad called About Herbs that has information both for health professionals and consumers.
Internet Marketing of Herbal Products
Abstract of an article appearing in JAMA September 17, 2003 to assess the information presented and indications claimed on the Internet for the 8 best-selling herbal products.
National Cancer Institute--Complementary and Alternative Medicine
This site discusses CAM approaches and includes a section on Nutritional Methods.Special diets or supplements are sometimes used in the treatment of people with cancer. Examples that may benefit cancer patients are coenzyme Q10 and antioxidants.
National Institute of Health Office of Dietary Supplements
This newly redesigned site presents reliable, science-based facts on dietary supplements; news & events; resources for researchers; and information about the composition and functions of supplements. Its fact sheets offer a current view of vitamins, minerals, and other dietary supplements, and many fact sheets are available in three versions: health professional, consumer, and QuickFacts. The site also includes FDA warnings and safety information.
Wellness Guide to Dietary Supplements
A service of the Berkeley Wellness Letter. Provides claims, purported benefits, evidence, and the “bottom line” for ~35 popular supplements.
E-Book of Interest
Natural Standard Herb and Supplement Guide by Covering 400 herbs and supplements, Natural Standard Herb & Supplement Guide: An Evidence-Based Reference provides the high-quality, up-to-date, unbiased information you need to advise your patients. No other book can match its expertise and attention to evidence! Each monograph is concise and easy to read, and includes uses, dosage information, safety considerations, and interactions with drugs and other herbs and supplements. At-a-glance research summaries and an alphabetical organization allow for quick lookup in busy settings! Monographs for the 400 most commonly used and prescribed herbs and supplements - such as arnica, ginseng, lavender, glucosamine, and blue cohosh - provide the information you need for effective clinical decision-making. A unique, evidence-based A-F grading scale evaluates the efficacy of each herb and supplement. Unique! Rating scales show at a glance the quality of available evidence. Updates are peer-reviewed, and include new scientific evidence, dosage recommendations, and more. Dosing information includes dosages for adults and children, and methods for administering. Coverage of allergies, side effects/warnings, and pregnancy/breast-feeding promotes safety by indicating when specific herbs and supplements should not be used, or when caution is required. A review of evidence includes detailed explanations of clinical trials cited and conclusions drawn, especially as they relate to specific diseases and conditions. Evidence tables summarize clinical trial data and provide a quick reference for clinical decision-making. Unique! Cross-referencing by condition and scientific evidence grade provides a convenient decision support tool, making it easy to find the herbs and supplements that may be used for the treatment of particular conditions.
Publication Date: 2010
Other Books in the Library
Health Professional's Guide to Popular Dietary Supplements by
Call Number: RM258.5 .S27 2007
Natural Standard Herb & Supplement Reference: Evidence-Based Clinical Reviews by
Call Number: RM 666.H33 N385 2005
Natural Standard Herb & Supplement Guide by
Call Number: RM 666.H33 N385 2010
Natural Standard Herbal Pharmacotherapy: An Evidence-Based Approach by
Call Number: RM666.H33 N387 2010