Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedia of Popular Music This link opens in a new window
Featuring a broad musical scope covering popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music, the Encyclopedia also offers thousands of additional entries covering popular music genres, trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals. Key dates, biographies, and further reading are provided for artists covered, along with complete discographies that include record labels, release dates, and a 5-star album rating system.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music This link opens in a new window
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is an online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. Contains than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world. Each volume contains an overview of the region, a survey of its musical heritage, traditions and themes; and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Articles include detailed photographs that show musicians, musical instrument, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies. Other images include drawings, maps, and musical examples for further study.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
The standard English-language encyclopedia of music and musicians, covering most aspects of art music, folk music, world music and jazz.
Music Index Online This link opens in a new window
Covering all styles and genres of music, the Music Index cites book reviews, obituaries, new periodicals, and news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry.
America History and Life This link opens in a new window
Covers North American (US and Canadian) history from prehistory to the present, providing references to journal articles, books, dissertations and reviews. America: History and Life covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide, including all key English-language historical journals and selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides references to journal articles, handbooks, and encyclopedias related to communication and mass media.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus This link opens in a new window
Offers coverage of academic and popular film journals. Each entry consists of a full bibliographic description, an abstract and comprehensive headings (biographical names, film titles and general subjects).
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for more than 270 publications (and selected coverage of more than 300), as well as full text for more than 70 journals.
Oxford African American Studies Center (5 users) This link opens in a new window
A collection of scholarship, including 8,000 articles and primary source documents, focusing on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.
Primary Sources Online
APS Online - American Periodical Series Online This link opens in a new window
APS Online contains full digital images of over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years-from colonial times to the advent of American involvement in World War II.
HarpWeek (Harper's Weekly) This link opens in a new window
Harper's Weekly is an important primary resource for examining 19th-century America, providing a comprehensive, week-to-week chronological record of what happened worldwide in the last half of the nineteenth century.
ProQuest Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full digital images of the New York Times, 1851-1999, and the Wall Street Journal, 1889-1985.