Scholarly Sources

Subject Specific Resources

Databases are collections of resources that are indexed and searchable. Subject-specific databases focus on a single academic discipline or a group of related disciplines. While they cover more specific topics within their subject area, they do not include the broad range of topics common to general databases.

Business Source Elite
This business database provides full text for over 1,000 business publications. The rich collection of titles in Business Source Elite provides information dating back to 1985. More than 10,100 substantial company profiles from Datamonitor are also included.
ABI/Inform Complete
Includes thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data, with international coverage that gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Communication Source
Communication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
PAIS International
References to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration.

Interdisciplinary Resources

Sometimes topics we are discussing are not contained to one specific discipline. In this case you will want to use a database that contains articles from the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities. They are a great way to see who is talking about your topic and to expand your research.

Scopus
Scopus is the world's largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, primary sources, and high-quality images.
ScienceDirect
Collection of authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications in both journals and books. Includes access to multimedia features, such as video, audio and supplementary spreadsheet files.
ProQuest Ebook Central
Online electronic books covering all academic disciplines.

Academic and Scholarly Journals

In addition to searching collections of resources, you can also browse and access articles through individual publications.

Browzine
Browzine Web allows your to browze WVU online journals by subject, or look up your favorite title. BrowZine can also help you create a personal virtual bookshelf of favorite journals.

Browzine | Leadership and Strategic Management
See all journals that library has access to under this subject heading.

Harvard Business Review by Harvard
HBR is a well-known business magazine and also publishes research articles on various management topics.
Academy of Management Journal (AMJ) by Academy of Management
The Academy of Management Journal is a peer-reviewed academic journal that publishes scholarly articles on various aspects of management and organizational studies.
The Leadership Quarterly by Elsevier
The Leadership Quarterly is a social-science journal dedicated to advancing our understanding of leadership as a phenomenon, how to study it, as well as its practical implications.
Leadership & Organization Development Journal by Emerald
Leadership & Organization Development Journal (LODJ) examines the body of management theory around leadership and organizations in order to discover new, more effective ways of managing in organizations.
Journal of Leadership Studies by Wiley
The Journal of Leadership Studies is a scholarly publication that explores and advances leadership theory, research, and practice through a diverse range of perspectives and methodologies.