Research Guides: Interior Design: 280, History of Interior Architecture: Historical Information

Interior Design Databases

BEST BETS for Historical Info

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, primary sources, and high-quality images. It has an archive of more than 1,000 scholarly, interdisciplinary journals, with full coverage for all but the most current 3-5 years. Images are contributed by universities, museums, and community and private collections. JSTOR is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Art Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Art Abstracts provides indexing and abstracts for 378 international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. This database covers a broad range of art topics such as advertising, archaeology, crafts, folk art, graphic arts, interior design, video, film, architecture and art history. Coverage for this database spans from 1984 to the present. Examples of publications indexed in Art Abstracts include: American Art, American Artist, Archaeology, Ceramics Monthly, Creative Review, Entertainment Design, Journal of Popular Film and Television, etc. Covers publications in many languages. Subject areas include art history, interior design, performance art, textiles, photography, graphics, architecture, and folk art.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals database offers a listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. It contains more than 440,000 thousand entries surveying over seven hundred American and international journals. These include not only scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also publications of professional associations, American state and regional periodicals, and the major serials on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Articles are included from key publications such as American Architect, Baumeister, Byggekunst, Domus, and El Croquis, as well as architectural articles from art and planning journals such as American Art Journal, Burlington Magazine, Environment and Planning A, Metropolitan Museum Journal,and Revue de l'Art.
America History and Life This link opens in a new window
Covers North American (US and Canadian) history from prehistory to the present, providing references to journal articles, books, dissertations and reviews. America: History and Life covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide, including all key English-language historical journals and selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals.
CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
A collection of nearly 500 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books provides a good starting point for research.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical, business and literary sources.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Offers a good starting point for research on nearly any topic, covering most areas of academic study and containing full text for 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals.