Health Sciences Center- Eastern: Research & Publishing Resources

Offers a good starting point for research on nearly any topic, covering most areas of academic study and containing full text for 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals.

Contains two million references and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in the field of psychology. Journal coverage, which spans from 1872 to the present, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 35 languages. More than 60,000 records are added each year. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Examples of titles offered in PsycINFO include: Academic Medicine, Academic Psychiatry, Behavior Genetics, Behavioral Disorders, Journal of Abnormal Child Psychology, Journal of Applied Social Psychology, Journal of Behavioral Medicine, Journal of Psychiatry & Neuroscience, Journal of Psychology, Psychoanalytic Psychology, Psychological Assessment, Psychological Medicine, etc.

Consumer Health Complete is a portal for consumer health care information. The database provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information. Consumers can search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles. (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research, with full text accessible via WVU Library subscriptions. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Links to library electronic resources are available to WVU students and faculty.

This database provides access to nearly 80 full-text, consumer health periodicals covering topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, and women's health. The database also includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and more than 130 health reference books, including Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.

Please find the Natural Medicines content in the AccessPharmacy database. Click on the "...More" link at the right, then choose Quick Reference Herbs and Supplements.

This database was founded by healthcare providers and researchers to provide high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. Grades reflect the level of available scientific data for or against the use of each therapy for a specific medical condition.

ProQuest Public Health is designed to be the starting point for public health information and research. It delivers core public health literature with centralized access to over 800 publications with over 500 in full-text and covers a wide variety of disciplines ranging from social sciences and biological sciences to business.

SafetyLit is a free service of the Center for Injury Prevention Policy and Practice at San Diego State University, in collaboration with the World Health Organization. It is an injury prevention literature update and archive. 

This database provides abstracts of reports from researchers who work in the more than 30 professional disciplines relevant to preventing unintentional injuries, violence, and self-harm. Among these are anthropology, economics, education, engineering specialties, ergonomics and human factors, health and medicine, law and law enforcement, psychology, sociology, and other fields. 
The SafetyLit database contains current and backfile article abstracts from 6,285 active scholarly journals, and abstracts from the backfiles of 2,671 additional "inactive" journals. 
The database contains article abstracts from 3,763 journals that are not included in PubMed/MEDLINE.

Provides indexing for current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from high impact research journals from around the world.