Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Primary Source guide for WGST 484, Fall 2022. This guide highlights collections held by the WVRHC, as well as digital collections curated by other repositories (below), organized by topic theme. It is not comprehensive, but rather the resources serve as a jumping off point for your own research. Drs. Watson and Cady are happy to talk with you about your topic if you'd like to work on something outside the themes listed.
Materials held by other repositories
- Historical Resistance Collections in Greater Philadelphia, a part of the Chronicling Resistance project, which "highlights letters, photographs, reports, scrapbooks, and other materials that document over 300 years of resistance history in Philadelphia and the surrounding region."
- The Black Feminism Introductory Research Guide from the Schomburg Center at NYPL
- In Her Own Right, another project out of Philadelphia, which focuses on women's activism from 1820-1920.
- The Interference Archive explores "the relationship between cultural production and social movements"
- Digital collections and exhibitions from the GLBT Historical Society
- The Black Women’s Suffrage Digital Collection from DPLA
- QZAP (Queer Zine Archive Project)
- Oral history transcriptions and audio files from the Walter Reuther Library at Wayne State University
- Selections from the Voices of Feminism Project at Smith College
- Online exhibitions from the One Archives Foundation, which "organizes art shows and public programs that explore the complexity of LGBTQ history through the lens of arts, culture, and contemporary issues" using archival material