Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian

WVRHC Subject Guides: Women

Archival Material

Women's Christian Temperance Union of Morgantown, Records Minutes, financial records, membership and officers lists of the local chapter of the Women's Christian Temperance Union

Socialist Workers Party, Papers Materials from several political campaigns are among the papers, including those of Rosalinda Flint's 1978 campaign for the U.S. Senate; women's rights, especially the Equal Rights Amendment and freedom to obtain abortions;

Victorine Louistall Monroe Papers Papers of Victorine Louistall Monroe, the first African-American woman to receive a graduate degree from West Virginia University, and the first African-American to serve as a WVU faculty member

Easton-Avery, Farm Woman's Club Minutes Meeting minutes of the Easton-Avery (W.Va.) Farm Woman's Club from 1945 to 1959 in two volumes. Volume I is from 1945 to 1948 and Volume II is from 1949 to 1959. Topics include membership, treasury information and dues, fundraising, household activity demonstrations and discussions (including canning, kitchen improvements and cooking, plants, and home decor), and community activities

West Virginia Federation of Business and Professional Women's Clubs, Inc. Records Clippings, photographs, minutes, activity reports, histories, and scrapbooks of state Business and Professional Women's Club presidents, districts, and local clubs (including Morgantown, Lewisburg, and Parkersburg)

Oral History Collection

324. MARGIE FAHRNER DAETWYLER. Helvetia, Randolph, County, WV, 8 January 1980. An interview with Margie Daetwyler, the daughter of Swiss emigres, conducted by David Sutton. Daetwyler offers her insights into the community organizations of Helvetia and the roles of women played in them. She also contrasts local farming practices of the past to those of the present, describes her Swiss lineage. One cassette, quality good, transcription available. (R382)

328. DR. MARGARET BALLARD. Union, Monroe County, WV, 18 July 1974. An interview with Dr. Ballard, a physician born in 1900, conducted by George P. Parkinson. Dr. Ballard discusses her med school education at West Virginia University and the University of Maryland, her practice in rural GreenBriar Valley, her family history and her personal philosophies concerning religion, education and women's Roles in society. Two reels (5") 3 3/4ips, quality good, notes available. (R399‐400)

C349 R436-R438 Lillian Majally Collection
Morgantown, Monongalia county WV. August 14 1986 and October 17 1986. An interview with Lillian Majally, conducted by Barbara Howe and George Parkinson; concerning her life and work with local, state, and national service organizations. Three reels. 7" 3 3/4.

C404 R509-R510 Olla Belle Reed (Mrs.) April 1984 Rising Sun, Maryland. An interview conducted at her home conducted by John Hensley, University of Delaware, Wilmington, Delaware. Discusses personal and family information, daily life, seasonal activities, recreation, mountain dancing, education, politics, family values, her musical career, the musical career, the music industry and famous entertainers she has known. Two cassette tapes 1 7/8. Quality good. Notes available.

Feminist Activism

Archival Material

WV FREE Records This collection includes WV FREE materials regarding reproductive rights advocacy.

Lisa Diehl Papers Materials pertaining to Lisa Diehl, an advocate for women on issues related to nontraditional employment, economic self-sufficiency, and non-discrimination

Christine Weiss Daugherty Papers This collection includes materials pertaining to Christine Weiss Daugherty, an advocate in issues related to women's economic equality, rural economic development, non-profit management, and more.

Read more about the WVRHC's current collecting project, the West Virginia Feminist Activist Collection

Suffrage

Archival Material

Lenna Lowe Yost, Suffragist, Papers Papers of Lenna Lowe Yost, prominent leader of West Virginia's suffrage movement and the first woman to chair a major political party national convention.

Women's Suffrage Song Sheet and Clippings Song sheet from the Third Annual Convention of the West Virginia League of Women Voters (1923)

Ada Haldeman Ford, Suffragist, Papers Papers of Ada Haldeman Ford, women's suffragist of Taylor County, West Virginia. Includes reminiscence, letters, and clippings documenting Ada Haldeman Ford's active role as a suffragist in Taylor County through 1920.

Howard Sutherland, Senator, Women's Suffrage Papers A collection of 400 letters, cards, petitions, telegrams, printed, and other similar items received and sent by U.S. Senator and Representatives Howard Sutherland (1865-1950) of West Virginia. The papers are part of Sutherland's constituent mail and are all concerned with the question of women's suffrage.

Books

Books related to Women in the Appalachian Collection