Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian

WVRHC Subject Guides: West Virginia Authors and Poets

Authors

Archival Collections

Pearl Buck

  • Pearl S. Buck, Author, Papers Papers of Pearl S. Buck (1892-1973), an American fiction writer and humanitarian
  • Pearl S. Buck, Author, Literary Manuscripts The collection includes the great majority of manuscripts comprising Buck's literary works, including her novels, non-fiction, children's books, and short stories, as well as articles and speeches, among other material.
  • Pearl S. Buck Birthplace Foundation Records Records of the Pearl S. Buck Birthplace Foundation documenting the restoration and preservation of the Pearl Buck Birthplace in Hillsboro, West Virginia, in Pocahontas County.

Breece Pancake, Author, Papers Papers of Breece D'J Pancake (1952-1979) of Milton, West Virginia, noted short story writer who depicted the Appalachian experience of rural West Virginians.

Denise Giardina, Author, Papers Papers of Appalachian author Denise Giardina. The collection includes research notebooks and draft manuscripts of her historical novels Good King Harry, Storming Heaven, The Unquiet Earth, Saints and Villains, and Emily's Ghost.

Margaret Prescott Montague, Author, Papers Correspondence, manuscripts, notes and notebooks, diaries, press clippings, photographs, and printed material of a West Virginia essayist, short-story writer, poet and novelist

Jesse Stuart, Author, Papers Letters, books, clippings, biographical and literary articles, and other papers regarding Appalachian poet and author, Jesse Stuart

From the Oral History Collection:

  • 332. HARRIETTE LOUISA (SIMPSON) ARNOW. Ann Arbor, Michigan, 1974. An interview with author Arnow conducted by Nadine Coffin concerning Arnow's philosophy on art, her ideas about women and their roles in Society, and the roles of nature, fantasy and personal experience in her novels. One reel (5") 3 3/4ips, transcription available. (R404)

Poets

Archival Material

Marc Harshman, Poet Laureate of West Virginia, Papers Professional and personal papers of Marc Harshman, Appalachian author and poet laureate of West Virginia.

Louise McNeill, Poet, Papers Papers of Louise McNeill (Pease), 1911-1993, of Pocahontas County, West Virginia, noted twentieth century Appalachian poet and author, poet laureate of West Virginia from 1979 to 1993, and professor of history and English

Lillian Mayfield Wright, Poet, Notebooks Notebooks of Lillian Mayfield Wright, Appalachian writer and poet from Tyler Co., WV

Tom Andrews Papers This collection documents mostly the adult life and work of poet Tom Andrews, including materials collected by Tom's family after his death, such as tributes from friends and colleagues

From the Oral History Collection:

  • 408. MAGGIE ANDERSON. Morgantown West Virginia. November 7‐10 1984. Maggie Anderson, poet and teacher delivers and addresses "Women and Creativity: Masks, Myths, and Marmalade." She discusses regional women writers of WV, especially Louise McNeill, and the differences and similarities between Anderson and McNeill, two writers of different generations. Anderson also reads selections of her and McNeill's poetry. One cassette, quality good. (R515)