Research Guides: WGST 225: Women in Appalachia 2021: Finding Primary Sources

Primary Source Databases

In addition to the wealth of materials held by the West Virginia & Regional History Center, you can find primary sources of various types in a number of databases.

Newspapers and Archival Materials

Library of Congress Primary Sources
The LoC's digital collections include photographs, prints, A/V, newspapers, and more.
Digital Transgender Archive
The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. The DTA uses the term transgender to refer to a broad and inclusive range of non-normative gender practices. We treat transgender as a practice rather than an identity category in order to bring together a trans-historical and trans-cultural collection of materials related to trans-ing gender.

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
ProQuest International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. ProQuest International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Includes approximately 150,000 pages of women's letters and diaries from Colonial times to 1950, including 7,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts. The material is drawn from more than 1,000 sources, including journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings
ProQuest Historical Newspapers - Black Newspapers This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers-Black Newspapers includes 9 newspapers and offers primary source material for the study of American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts. Newspapers included are: Chicago Defender, The Baltimore Afro-American, New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, Los Angeles Sentinel, Atlanta Daily World, The Norfolk Journal and Guide, The Philadelphia Tribune, and Cleveland Call and Post.