Primary Source Material for WGST 484: Capstone Fall 2021: Home

A&M collections

• West Virginia Feminist Activist collection
• Helen M. Lewis, Author, "The Subcultures of the Southern Appalachians: Their Origin and Boundary Maintenance"
• Ada Haldeman Ford, Suffragist, Papers
• Scott Bills, Student, Activist Records
• Coal industry in West Virginia (includes: clippings, newsletters, pamphlets, etc. pertaining to mining, workers, strikes, activism against strip mining; also includes a copy of 1917 survey of coke coal in Randolph and Webster counties), 1970-1979
• Anna Schein, Collector, Feedsack Textile Bag Collection; Series 4. Embroidery, ca. 1925-1960s
• Collection of West Virginia Zines
• Socialist Workers Party, Papers

Printed Ephemera

• The Flicker
• For our information
• Gay People's Union newsletter
• The West Virginia Activist

Digital Collections and Exhibits

The Feminist Activist Collection (a selection of materials)

West Virginia Folklife Digital Collection

Women's Suffrage in West Virginia

Appalachian Collection

Thoughts of Mother Jones: compiled from her writings and speeches

• Historical Resistance Collections in Greater Philadelphia, a part of the Chronicling Resistance project, which "highlights letters, photographs, reports, scrapbooks, and other materials that document over 300 years of resistance history in Philadelphia and the surrounding region."
• The Black Feminism Introductory Research Guide from the Schomburg Center at NYPL
• In Her Own Right, another project out of Philadelphia, which focuses on women's activism from 1820-1920.
• The Interference Archive explores "the relationship between cultural production and social movements"
• Digital collections and exhibitions from the GLBT Historical Society
• The Black Women’s Suffrage Digital Collection from DPLA
• QZAP (Queer Zine Archive Project)
• Oral history transcriptions and audio files from the Walter Reuther Library at Wayne State University
• Selections from the Voices of Feminism Project at Smith College
• Online exhibitions from the One Archives Foundation, which "organizes art shows and public programs that explore the complexity of LGBTQ history through the lens of arts, culture, and contemporary issues" using archival material