The Law Library consists of a first floor (ground floor) and a second floor. The Law Library offers extensive table seating, soft seating, carrels, and study rooms throughout our physical space. To reserve a study room, see the "Reserve a Study Room Online" section of the 1L Welcome Guide.
WVU Law students have 24/7 swipe access to the Law Library. View the library's full semester calendar here. The Law Library's staffed hours are limited over semester breaks, and the library is closed without swipe access on home football game Saturdays. Law Library fall semester staffed hours are below.
|Day of Week||Library Staffed|
|Monday - Friday:||9:00 A.M. - 4:00 P.M.|
The Law Library's first floor contains the library's main entrance, Circulation Desk, three study rooms, and numerous library tables. Library staff offices are located on the first floor. View the large video monitor by the library's main entrance for updates on library services, programming, and resources.
The first floor print collection includes the following key resources:
The Law Library's second floor boasts extensive table seating and soft seating next to floor-to-ceiling windows. The second floor also contains carrels, two study rooms, and the Carlin Instruction Room. The second floor print collection contains monographs, general legal and multi-disciplinary titles, and practice-oriented secondary legal sources.
WVU Law students must have a WVU student ID card to borrow materials. Law students receive a semester loan for general collection books and a two-hour loan for course reserves. Loan periods vary for other circulating items and across different WVU campus libraries, which include the Downtown Library, Health Sciences Library, Evansdale Library, and satellite campus libraries.
Law students can renew general collection books three times and course reserves twice. Law students can renew items by calling the Library Circulation Desk at 304-293-5300 or via email@example.com. View borrowing policies and procedures from other branch libraries here. View procedures on ordering items from other libraries worldwide via interlibrary loan here.