History

AM Explorer contains hundreds of thousands of primary source documents from 88 unique collections. Themes include area studies, cultural studies, empire and globalism, ethnic studies, gender and sexuality, history, politics, literature, theatre, war and conflict. Content ranges from medieval times to the present.

Eight Centuries is a comprehensive database aggregating vast scholarly indexes to journals, newspapers, books, documents, artwork, and images. This growing database contains 27,408,426 discrete links to primary source historical documents.

Historical documents collections, most never before available before on the Internet, relating to the Revolutionary War, Civil War, WWI, WWII, U S Presidents, historical newspapers and naturalization documents.

APS Online contains full digital images of over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years-from colonial times to the advent of American involvement in World War II.

Digital images of 500 periodicals, published from the 1680s to the 1930s, tracing the development and growth of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the seventeenth century through to the Victorian 'age of periodicals.'

Chronicling America provides free access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, supported by the National Endowment for the Humanities and permanently maintained at the Library of Congress. Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Users can also access the list of digitized newspapers from West Virginia (https://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/newspapers/west_virginia/).

A complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2003. New full-colour images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables and a gallery of front covers highlighting a key topic of each week - all combine to offer a primary source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries.

Primary source material from 18th and 19th century periodicals, particularly useful for civil war and genealogical research. Includes: Godey`s Lady`s Book, The Pennsylvania Gazette, The Charleston Mercury, The New York Herald, Richmond Enquirer, 19th Century African American Newspapers, The 19th Century American County Histories to 1900, The Pennsylvania Newspaper Record: Delaware County, The Industrial Revolution in Delaware County /w Vital Statistics, The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue: Chester County.

Digital images of the Times (London) complete from 1785 to 2012.

Contains more than 150 newspapers, including major titles from every region of the U.S. Coverage throughout the Civil War and into the critical postwar period.

Featuring more than 13,500 works published between 1860 and 1922, this fully searchable collection offers printed items addressing all facets of the Civil War and its aftermath. These diverse materials, all filmed in full-resolution color, include broadsides, lithographs, maps, books, pamphlets, photographs, political cartoons, stereographs, and more. Coverage extends throughout the Civil War and well beyond into the critical postwar period.

Original documents, primary source material, essays, and biographical information related to empire studies, with an emphasis on the British Empire.

Includes approximately 150,000 pages of women's letters and diaries from Colonial times to 1950, including 7,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts. The material is drawn from more than 1,000 sources, including journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings

Early English Books Online (EEBO) features page images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700. Over 200 libraries worldwide have contributed to EEBO. From the first book printed in English through to the ages of Spenser, Shakespeare and of the English Civil War, EEBO's content draws on authoritative and respected short-title catalogues of the period and features a substantial number of text transcriptions specially created for the product.

138,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800, digitized and fully searchable. ECCO includes every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.

37,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides provide primary source documents on nearly every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft.

Collections of declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events - including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions - from 1945 to the present.

Abstracts and indexing for congressional publications, legislative histories, member biographies, committee assignments, voting records, and financial data; and the full text of key regulatory and statutory resources. Full-text access to House and Senate Unpublished Hearings Parts A, B, & C.

Historic reports, documents and journals of the US Senate and House of Representatives, originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes. Digitization is on-going. When complete, coverage will extend through 1980.

The most comprehensive compilation of declassified documents from the executive branch. The types of materials include intelligence studies, policy papers, diplomatic correspondence, cabinet meeting minutes, briefing materials, and domestic surveillance and military reports.

Contains legislative and executive documents of the first 14 U.S. Congresses and extensive coverage of the major events that helped to shape the Early Republic.