Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian

History 200: Practicing History - Global Working-Class History

A&M Collections

For the abstract and more information about these collections, follow the link to the collection finding aid. Search for additional collections in the Center's Guide to Archives and Manuscripts

A&M 2078 Slaves and Slavery Legal Documents

  • Dates: 1797-1829
  • Extent: 0.01 Linear Feet (Summary: 1/4 in. (5 items in 1 folder))

A&M 2609 Progressive Mine Workers of America, Archives

  • Dates: 1932-1965
  • Extent:15.75 Linear Feet (Summary: 15 ft. 9 1/4 in. (35 document cases, 5 in.); (2 ledgers books, 2 1/2 in.); (3 bound volumes, 10 in.); (1 oversize folder, 1/4 in.); (2 artifact storage boxes, 3/4 in.); 8 reels of microfilm)

A&M 2284 Teamsters Loacl 175, Scrapbook and Diary

  • Dates: 1938-1948
  • Extent: 0.25 Linear Feet (Summary: 3 in. (1 wrapped scrapbook; 1 wrapped diary))

A&M 2680 United Mine Workers of American, Local Union 6046, Archives

  • Inclusive dates: 1985
  • Extent: 1 in.

A&M 2423 Window Glass Cutters League of America, Papers

  • Dates: ca. 1876-1970
  • Extent:  85.3 Linear Feet (Summary: 85 ft. 3 1/2 in. (181 document cases, 5 in. each; 1 document case, 2 1/2 in.; 3 record cartons, 15 in. each; 2 clamshell boxes, 3 in. each; 2 large flat storage boxes, 3 in. each; 28 unboxed legers, 61 in.); 5 reels of microfilm)

A&M 3839 Howard P. Wade, Author, Study Regarding Eckman, West Virginia

  • Inclusive dates: Undated
  • Extent:  0.01 Linear Feet (Summary: 1/4 in. (1 folder))
  • "Two chapters of a study by Howard P. Wade, D.A., titled "Eckman: A Coal Camp in McDowell County, West Virginia", regarding the late 18th century African Americans immigrants to the McDowell County coal camp of Eckman, their origins, social and religious organizations, and experiences assimilating to the coal fields, as well as African American life in Eckman between the years of 1892 and 1942."

A&M 0652 Scotts Run Community Center Scrapbook

  • Inclusive dates: 1927-1938
  • Extent: 0.3 Linear Feet (Summary: 4 in. (1 small flat storage box, 3 in.); (1 wrapped package, 1 in.); 1 reel of microfilm)

A&M 2015 Luke Wilcox (1795-1854) Diary

  • Dates: 1795-1879, Majority of material found within 1843-1854
  • Extent: 0.01 Linear Feet (4 pages (1 folder); 1 reel of microfilm)

A&M 4388 William Archer, Journalist, Research Papers Regarding McDowell and Mercer Counties

  • Dates: 1795-2020, Majority of material found within ca. 1950-2010
  • Extent: 20.75 Linear Feet (20 ft. 9 1/4 in. (13 record cartons, 15 in. each); (4 document cases, 5 in. each); (1 document case, 4 in.); (1 document case, 2 1/2 in.); (2 flat boxes, 1 1/2 in. each); (3 flat boxes, 3 in. each); (1 box, 6 1/2 in.); (1 box, 5 in.); (1 index card box, 4 1/4 in.))
  • "Archer researched all aspects of coal country life. Significant topics covered by him include music originating in the area, local African American culture and history, hometown heroes, disasters such as flooding and crashes, famous people connected to the area, court cases, coal mining and mining disasters, communities and their services, and transportation."

Oral Histories

To request an oral history, please schedule an appointment. Take note of the name and R number (both in bold below). You can explore our other oral histories here.

33. NICOLO CALABRESE. Monongah, Marion County, WV, 18 September 1961. An interview with Calabrese, a retired coal miner, conducted by Charles Shetler concerning labor organization in the coal industry in the early 1900's. Two reels (7") 7 1/2 ips. (R36‐37)

57. BERNARD RUCKER. Coalton, Randolph County, WV, 2 May 1967. An interview with Rucker, a retired coal miner, conducted by John E. Stealey III as part of an oral history project for the West Virginia Collection of West Virginia University concerning conditions in West Virginia coalfields and early attempts at union organization. Partial reel (5") 1 7/8 ips. (R57)

74. FRANK DALE. Jere, Monongalia County, WV, 6 June 1967. An interview with Dale, a retired coal miner, conducted by John E. Stealey III as part of an oral history project for the West Virginia Collection of West Virginia University concerning Dale's experiences as an African American coal miner from the early 1900s to the 1930s. Partial reel (5") 1 7/8 ips. (R63)

101. TONY DEMICCO AND JOE DEMICCO. Hepzibah, Harrison County, WV, 27 June 1967. An interview with the Demicco brothers, retired coal miners, conducted by John E. Stealey III as part of an oral history project for the West Virginia Collection of West Virginia University. The interview concerns life for immigrants in the coalfields before and during unionization. Partial reel (5") 1 7/8 ips. (R76)

137. ANDREW DIXON. Omar, Logan County, WV, 16 July 1971. An interview with Dixon, a retired Afro‐American coal miner, conducted by Paul and Linda Nyden, concerning his escape from Alabama after union activities, his migration north and his life and work in the southern West Virginia coalfields. One reel (5") 1 7/8 ips. (R106)

138. JOHN MENDEZ. Chapmanville, Logan County, WV, 16 July 1971. An interview with Mendez, a Chicano coal miner, conducted by Paul and Linda Nyden, concerning his activities as a leader in the Black Lung Association and in the Miners for Democracy. He discusses methods used by the coal companies to recruit and contract for minority labor, specifically Mexican‐American miners. One reel (5") 1 7/8 ips. (R107)

184. GOLDIE SCHNEIDER. Gillespie, Illinois, 22 October 1974. An interview with Mrs. Schneider, secretary of the Progressive Mine Workers of America ‐ Women's Auxillary, conducted by Barbara Herndon. Mrs. Schneider was born in 1897, and is the daughter and wife of coal miners. She discusses her work and also tells how her husband assumed responsibility for household chores while she worked various jobs. One cassette. (R174)

257. FRANK ENGLAND. Springfield, Illinois, 11 January 1978. An interview with England, a former coal miner and Progressive Mine Workers of America activist, born in 1916, conducted by Nick Cherniavsky concerning England's childhood in Springfield, his years as a muledriver, and his experiences as a member of the Progressive Mine Workers of America. He discusses his later life as a steelworker and contrasts it with his coal mining days. England served as an elected union official, both as a steelworker and as a coal miner. Two cassettes. (R287‐288)

390. KEYSER ALUMINUM PLANT. Ravenswood, Jackson County, West Virginia. November 8 1974. An interview with steelworkers of USWA Local 5668, conducted by Keith Dix. One reel (5") 3 3/4 ips. (R493)