West Virginia Law Review: WVU Law Library Resources

Spading law review articles entails such tasks as assessing the article text and checking the footnote citations against the original source to confirm accuracy. The resources provided below focus on parsing legal abbreviations, citations, style, and common usage. Note that other pages covered in this West Virginia Law Review guide can support other aspects the spading process, such as pulling citations to law review articles, interdisciplinary articles, and books. 

ALWD Guide to Legal Citation 

ALWD is a guide to U.S. legal citations available at Law Library Course Reserves - KF245.A45.

 

Bieber's Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations

Bieber's Dictionary is a comprehensive reference guide on legal abbreviations available at Law Library General Collection - KF246.B46.

 

Bluebook Manual of Legal Citation 

The Bluebook is the leading U.S. manual of legal citations available at Law Library Course Reserve and General Collection - KF245.B58.

 

Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations 

Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations is a free online resource published by Cardiff University. Users may search by legal abbreviation (e.g., W. Va. L. Rev.) or full title (e.g., West Virginia Law Review).

 

Proofreaders' Marks Guide - Chicago Manual of Style 

The Chicago Manual of Style Online provides an overview of common proofreaders' marks.

 

The Maroonbook: The University of Chicago Manual of Legal Citation 

The Maroonbook is a guide to U.S. legal citations available as a free online resources.

 

Texas Law Review Manual on Usage & Style (MoUs)

The Texas MoUs is a concise legal writing manual that covers style and usage available at Law Library General Collection - KF245 .M36.

 

World Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations 

World Dictionary is a comprehensive reference guide of global legal abbreviations available at Law Library General Collection - K89.K38.