The August 21st, 2017 solar eclipse has been named “The Great American Eclipse” because it can be seen across the entire continental United States. This is the first total solar eclipse visible in the US during the 21st century, and the next one is still over 7 years away. Though totality, when the moon completely covers the sun and causes temporary darkness, can only be seen in a few narrow bands outside of West Virginia, we will still be able to experience up to 90% coverage of the Sun by the Moon. The last time we had this opportunity here in WV was 1994 – and the next won’t be until 2024!
During a total solar eclipse, strange phenomena occur:
Darkness in the middle of the day
Corona, “diamond ring” and other light effects around the sun
360-degree sunset around the entire horizon; this deepens before darkness
Nocturnal animals emerge and begin “nighttime” routines
Birds come in to roost and stop chirping
Temperature drops 5-15 degrees
Stars and bright planets such as Mars, Venus, Mercury & Jupiter become visible
After the eclipse, as light breaks, birds chirp as if it is daybreak
The NASA Television App brings live and on-demand TV programming to your phone. Watch the latest NASA events unfold in real-time or select from a list of recently uploaded videos. Or plan your viewing up to a week in advance with the NASA TV schedule.
The NASA App showcases a huge collection of the latest NASA content, including images, videos on-demand, NASA Television, mission information, news & feature stories, latest tweets, ISS sighting opportunities, satellite tracking, Third Rock Radio and much more.
Total Solar Eclipse 2017 App fromExploratorium
Explore Total Solar Eclipse, a mobile app that incorporates livestreaming. This free app gives you access to live video streams of the total solar eclipse occurring on August 21, 2017, which will cross from the west to east coasts of the United States.
Tune in to five simultaneous video streams, all from your smart phone or tablet:
Live coverage hosted by Exploratorium educators and NASA scientists
Live coverage in Spanish hosted by Exploratorium educators
Non-narrated 3-hour live telescope view of the full eclipse as seen from Oregon
Non-narrated 3-hour live telescope view of the full eclipse as seen from Wyoming
Live telescope view with live musical sonification and accompaniment by the Kronos Quartet
Smithsonian Solar Eclipse app
This August 21, 2017, the Sun and moon will align, giving Americans a front row seat to a rare celestial event—a total solar eclipse. Don't miss a moment with the Smithsonian Solar Eclipse app(link is external). Watch a live NASA stream of the eclipse as it travels across the continental United States, calculate your view with our interactive eclipse map, and get a virtual view in our eclipse simulator. While you wait, check out some of the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory's solar research and get even closer to the sun with near-live views from space.
The Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO)(link is external) is one part of the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics, where leading astronomers ask, test, and answer some of humanity’s greatest questions.
One of the world's most popular nature apps, iNaturalist helps you identify the plants and animals around you. Get connected with a community of over 400,000 scientists and naturalists who can help you learn more about nature! What's more, by recording and sharing your observations, you'll create research quality data for scientists working to better understand and protect nature.
GLOBE Observer invites you to make observations about the Earth around you. Observations you collect and submit with this app are used by scientists to validate, interpret, and understand satellite data collected by NASA from space.
The current version includes two capabilities. GLOBE Clouds allows observers to make regular observations of the Earth’s cloud cover and compare it to NASA satellite observations. GLOBE Mosquito Habitat Mapper allows users to locate mosquito habitats, observe and identify mosquito larvae, and reduce the potential threat of mosquito borne disease.
By using the GLOBE Observer app, you are joining the GLOBE community and contributing important scientific data to NASA and GLOBE, your local community, and students and scientists worldwide. The Global Learning and Observations to Benefit the Environment (GLOBE) Program is an international science and education program that provides students and the public worldwide with the opportunity to participate in data collection and the scientific process, and contribute meaningfully to our understanding of the Earth system and global environment.