Research Guides: Religious Studies 223: Christianity in America: Scholarly Articles

Google Scholar and Find it @WVU

Google Scholar is linked to the WVU Library holdings with Find it@ WVU

WVU computers automatically link to WVU Library holdings
If you are not using a WVU computer (your own device or off-campus):
- Use the settings (the gear) in Google Scholar
- Edit Library links to include
  - Open WorldCat - Library Search
  - West Virginia University Libraries - Find it @ WVU
If Full Text is not available
- Use the Request: ILLiad button under "Request a copy of this item"
- Login to ILLiad with your WVUID credentials
- Enter submit at the foot of the pre-populated form to forward your request to Interlibrary Loan
- Articles are normally provided in 24-48 hours of workdays
Use the same technique using the Find It @ WVU link in any Library database

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research, with full text accessible via WVU Library subscriptions. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Links to library electronic resources are available to WVU students and faculty.

JSTOR

JSTOR has full-text scholarly articles from journals in many disciplines.

For best results, use the Advanced Search.
If you want only articles, not reviews, make sure you click on the box next to Articles.
You can restrict By Discipline: Religion and History are suggested choices.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials

ATLA Religion Database

Journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals.

Refine Results on the menu at the left.
Use the Find it @ WVU link to obtain materials that are not immediately available in full text.

Project Muse

Project Muse has full-text scholarly articles from many journals in the humanities.

For best results, use the Advanced Search.
If you want only articles, make sure you click on the box next to Articles Only (No Reviews).
Choose Books and Journals, Books, orJournals from the drop-down menu.
Type search terms into box.
On the results page, click Only Content I Have Full Access To box.
Narrow results by choosing the appropriate Research Area on the left-hand side of screen.

Peer Reviewed Articles

Features of peer-reviewed journals:

Structured reviewing system in which at least two reviewers, who are not in house editors, who know the subject are selected.
Evaluate each unsolicited manuscript which is a potential journal article and advise the journal editor as to whether the article should be accepted, rejected or revised.
The review process helps ensure that published articles reflect solid scholarship in the field.