Skip to main content
Ask A Librarian

Religious Studies 223: Christianity in America

Resources to support the research for students of RELG 223

Resources for U.S. History

American History and Life

Covers US and Canadian history from prehistory to the present, providing references to journal articles, books, dissertations and reviews. America: History and Life covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide, including all key English-language historical journals and selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals. 

Although full text is not included in this database, the Find It @ WVU service provides links to full text from other databases when available. 

Oxford African American Studies Center

A collection of scholarship, including 8,000 articles and primary source documents, focusing on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. NOTE: CAN ONLY ACCOMMODATE ONE USER AT A TIME.

United States Religious History: Selected Sources Online

Online Encyclopedias

Contemporary Amercian Religion

The encyclopedia of religious phenomena

Prime-time religion an encyclopedia of religious broadcasting (online edition)

Religion (Encyclopedia of Southern culture)

Searchable Online Collections

CREDO Reference

A collection of nearly 500 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books provides a good starting point for research.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

A collection of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical, business and literary sources.

Sage Reference Online

A collection of authoratative encyclopedias in the social sciences, including coverage for anthropology, criminology, environment, psychology, research methods, sociology, and women's studies. 

United States Religious History: Selected Sources in Print

  • Paste these titles into the library catalog 
  • Identify the location of the book. Visit the library to use or check out these books
  • Ask for assistance if you need help finding where they are shelved
  • Additional titles can be located by searching the catalog
  • For example, a subject search for United States--Church history retrieves nearly 200 titles for that subject and many more books in additional subcategories 

Atlas of American ReligionThe Denominational Era, 1776-1996

Cambridge history of religions in America

Contemporary American religion

Dictionary of Christianity in America

Dictionary of heresy trials in American Christianity

Encyclopedia of African American religions

Encyclopedia of American religious history

Encyclopedia of Christianity

The Encyclopedia of religion and war

Encyclopedia of Religion in the South

Handbook of Denominations in the United States

Prime-time Religion : an Encyclopedia of Religious Broadcasting (print edition)

Westminster Handbook to Women in American Religious History

World Christian Encyclopedia : a Comparative Study of Churches and Religions in the Modern World, AD 1900-2000