This is the "Home" page of the "Map Collection" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Ask a Librarian

Map Collection   Tags: maps  

Map Collection
Last Updated: Aug 12, 2014 URL: http://libguides.wvu.edu/map_collection Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

The Map Collection on the lower level of the Downtown Campus Library:

A collection of specialized maps such as topographic and geologic maps, aeronautical and nautical charts, global maps, etc.are housed in Room 122 of the Downtown Campus Library.  CD-ROM map products such as DLG, DRG and DOQ can be checked out for two weeks.  Most library users can find political, economic, physical, and historical atlases by consulting the WVU Libraries online catalog MountainLynx

The collection contains approximately 79,316 maps stored in map cases. Most of the map sheets in the collection are received through the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP).  The majority of maps are produced by three federal agencies: the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS), the National Ocean Service (NOS), and the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency (NGA), formerly the National Imagery and Mapping Agency (NIMA).  The Library also receives maps of foreign countries from the Central Intelligence Agency.  Maps received after 1976 through FDLP are retrievable by using the MarciveWeb Docs database in all WVU libraries.  Bibliographic records of current Federal depository maps are available on the libraries on-line catalog MountainLynx.  West Virginia maps circulate for two hours.  All other topographic maps can be circulated for two weeks.

 

Summon Search Government Documents

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Christine Chang
Contact Info
Downtown Campus Library
Room 1004B
304-293-0331
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip