This is the "Home" page of the "History of Medicine at the WVU Health Sciences Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Ask a Librarian

History of Medicine at the WVU Health Sciences Library  

Last Updated: Apr 23, 2013 URL: http://libguides.wvu.edu/historyofmedicine Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome to the History of Medicine Guide

The WVU Health Sciences Library is committed to the study of the history of medicine and health sciences.  While health sciences professions rely on current research and training, considering a historical perspective enables greater analysis of health issues and trends. 

The History of Medicine Book Collection, currently located on level one of the library stacks, contains histories of health sciences disciplines, diseases and treatments, biographies of medical pioneers, as well as early textbooks and research publications. The Health Sciences Library also subsribes to history of medicine journals and databases to supplement our book collection.  

The pages in this guide are designed to lead you to the best sources for history of medicine information.  Find information about books and journals here at WVU as well as links to images, manuscripts and artifact collections available on the web.

We invite you to use the collection, suggest titles that could be added, and to ask questions!

 

Literature of Prescription: Charlotte Perkins Gilman and "The Yellow Wallpaper"

February 11 - March 23, 2013

In the late nineteenth century, at a time when women were challenging traditional ideas about gender that excluded them from political and intellectual life, medical and scientific experts drew on notions of female weakness to justify inequality between the sexes. Artist and writer Charlotte Perkins Gilman, who was discouraged from pursuing a career to preserve her health, rejected these ideas in a terrifying short story titled “The Yellow Wall-Paper.” The famous tale served as an indictment of the medical profession and the social conventions restricting women's professional and creative opportunities.

Find out more and get a preview on the exhibition website.

 

WVU Health Sciences Library

 

Health Sciences Library Stacks Locations

Find it in the Library Stacks!

Level 6
Older and oversize books (1980-2001)

 

Level 5 - Main Level
Books and Oversize Books (2002-Present)
Bound Journals, A-Z (2000-Present)
Unbound Journals, Reference Collection, Audiotapes and 16mm films

 

Level 4
Older Journals (1980-1999), titles A through Health Education Quarterly

 

Level 3
Older Journals (1980-1999), titles Health Physics through Promotion & Education

 

Level 2
Older Journals (1980-1999), titles Prostaglandins through Z

 

Level 1
Locked Cage (Books before 1950 and Journals before 1900)
History of Medicine Collection, Indexes and Abstracts
Theses and Dissertations, U.S. Government Documents

 

History of Medicine Books on a Shelf

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip