Skip to main content
Ask A Librarian

Government Information Research Guide

Government Documents at WVU including federal and state holdings. View documents in print, microforms, data sets, maps, posters, CD’s, DVD’s and online and is is open to the public and is available during the service hours.

Tips for Finding Government Documents in the Catalog

WVU Libraries online catalog; use it to find books, articles, periodicals, microforms, and A/V media owned by the libraries. Limit your results by choosing Government Documents under Topics on the left hand side.

Catalog of the U.S. Government Publications (CGP)

The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available. You can also use the CGP to find what publications West Virginia University has available in the Library.

Advanced users can search the CGP using MarciveWeb DOCs.

Finding Government Documents

You can find a complete guide to Government Documents on our website.

Government Documents sections are noted by the FDLP Emblem. If you come across it you are in a Government Documents section.

Most Government Documents are cataloged with Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) call numbers. 

Where to Locate Congressional Publications

Downtown Campus Library

The Downtown Campus Library has the largest collection of government documents. Paper and bound formats are located on the lower level in the compact shelving unit. This includes:

  • The Federal Register -  Latest two years are kept.
  • Congressional Record - Bound volumes include 43rd Congress – Current bound (112th Congress). Daily Congressional Record in paper format includes the most current congress (115th Congress). The bound format replaces the paper format when it is received.
  • Serial Set -  1995 – Current (2011) Most volumes before 1995 are housed at the Libraries Depository.
  • House Journal - 97th Congress – 113th Congress
  • Senate Journal - 97th Congress – 113th Congress
  • U.S. Code - 1998 – Current (2012)

The first floor of the Downtown Campus Library houses the Government Documents census collection. This includes:

The second floor of Downtown Campus Library houses the Government Documents microforms collection. This includes:

  • The Federal Register from 1936-1982 on microfilm, and the Federal Register from 1982 – Current (2015) on microfiche.
  • Serial Set microfiche 96th Congress – Current. These are in order from Congress, then in call number order starting with Y1. 
  • Code of Federal Regulations microfiche  1985- Current (2016) Call numbers beginning with AE 2.106/2 and AE 2.106/3. 
  • House Journal microfiche 96th – 112th Congress
  • Senate Journal microfiche 96-113th Congress
  • House and Senate Committee hearings and publications starting with call number Y4.

Additional Locations

Evansdale Library – Braille Book Review, NASA, Nuclear Regulatory Commission issuances, National Park Service maps, and Soil Surveys.

Health Science Library – Health statistics and reports on various subjects including mortality, health, American Cancer Society, AIDS, and PTSD. All Government Documents at the Health Sciences Library are in closed stacks. Please see the Access Services desk for assistance.

George R. Farmer Law Library – Current 2 years of the Federal Register, current year of the Code of Federal Regulations, and Supreme Court case reports.

Library Depository: Some Government Documents are also located at the Libraries' Depository, an offsite storage facility that is closed to the general public. These items will be marked with the location "Depository Closed Stacks."  You can request the item through Book Express +, where it will be available for pick up at the library location of your choice.