Skip to main content
Ask A Librarian

Film and Video Guide: Film in the Classroom

Finding video in the library and finding film reviews in databases and on the web.

About Using Media for Instruction

Electronic Resource (Video)Integrating media into the classroom: practice and case studies

Welcome to the multimedia learning environment! In this video, middle school, high school, and college media specialists and instructors invite viewers into the classroom to see for themselves how colleagues are tapping into the power of media to improve teaching and enhance learning.

Drawing on their direct experience, they offer practical advice, tips, and examples to show how to use media to support instructional strategies, develop ideas on teaching, and engage students. Program segments include "Why Use Media," "Choosing Media," "Preparing Media for the Classroom," "During and After," and "Case Studies"-footage of real educators who are really putting theory into practice. 

Online ArticleProfessor Video: Visual audio, and interactive media are transforming the college classrom. Harvard Magazine Features Nov. /Dec. 2009. Lambert, Craig. 

Teaching with video. See examples of media from students and instructors relating to the "Professor Video" article.

Electronic Book: "Teacher's Guide to Digital Media in the Classroom." 

Library Media in the Classroom for Instructors

Media enhances learning in the traditional, online, and blended classroom. I want WVU faculty to be aware of the many media resources we offer at the WVU Libraries for your use as instructors. 

The WVU Libraries provide databases comprised of educational video that you can search and use in your courses. You can place clips or films on electronic reserve so the students can view the media online. There are excellent resources in nearly every discipline so experiment with a number of searches for your topics of interest to identify appropriate sources.  

Films on Demand is a streaming video collection offering curriculum-focused content, providing instant access to over 6,200 full-length programs. It is easy to embed videos from Films on Demand into an eCampus course page. Simply copy the code to embed the title or a segement into the HTML of the page you are developing in "Build." The code will automatically lead the users through signing in to our proxy server if they are off campus. If they are on campus, they film will play immediately. Please feel free to contact Beth if you need assistance with this. Films in this database are also discoverable in the Library Catalog.

Great Speeches Video Series provides streaming video of speeches by public figures from all walks of life, from Babe Ruth to the Dalai Lama to Senator Robert Byrd.

You can access these and more video and sound databases to explore your opportunities on the Libraries website.

We also have a large DVD collection that we can provide as streaming video for electronic course reserves. We can stream only particular clips from the DVDs you select or entire films. To access information about how to place videos on electronic reserve or stream clips from films, please visit the page that includes Media eReserves forms

I hope that when you find out the variety of media resources we have to offer, you will take advantage of the use of media. Media enhances instruction by breaking up the monotony of entirely text based learning materials. It meets the needs of students with various learning styles including visual, verbal, solitary and aural learners. It can even be social when groups gather together to view and discuss media. Increasing the number of styles that you use to provide instruction increases its effectiveness. 

To request media, you may email me at, call me at (304) 293-0336, or use the suggest a purchase form. I appreciate your assistance in developing a collection that meets the media needs of the WVU community and supports your teaching, research, and service missions. Feel free to contact me should you have any questions.


Beth Jane Toren

Web Services and Reference Librarian and Media Bibliographer