This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Criminology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Ask a Librarian

Criminology   Tags: crime, criminal_justice, criminology, law_enforcement  

Guide for doing research in criminology and criminal justice
Last Updated: Feb 20, 2013 URL: http://libguides.wvu.edu/criminology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books for background information

The following are books in the Downtown Library's reference section (1st floor)

Cover Art
Buzzed : the straight facts about the most used and abused drugs from alcohol to ecstasy - Cynthin Kuhn et al.
Call Number: RM316 .K84 2003
ISBN: 0393324931
An authoritative but easy to read guide to commonly used drugs. Includes mental and physical effects and legal classifications for each drug.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Criminology - Richard A. Wright & J. Mitchell Miller
Call Number: HV6017 .E5295 2005
ISBN: 1579583873

 

Background Inforamtion

 Use the following resources to get broad overviews of social issues and laws as well as facts and definitions of terms relating to your research topic.

Databases for background inforamtion

  • Sage Reference Online
    Look here for more overviews of research as well as detailed explanations of terms and concepts. Sage covers topics in Criminology, Sociology, Psychology and more.
  • CREDO Reference
    Includes:
    Dictionary of Prisons and Punishment
    Dictionary of Probation and Offender Management
    Guns in American Society: An Encyclopedia of History, Politics, Culture and the Law
    and many more...
  • Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online
    Look here for overviews of research on Sociology topics as well as detailed explanations of terms and concepts used in sociology including criminology.
  • CQ Public Affairs Collection
    Look here to find analysis of legislation passed on your topic, reports from federal agencies, legal case summaries, and encyclopedia articles on public affairs topics.
  • CQ Supreme Court Collection
    Look here for summaries and analysis of cases brought before the Supreme Court

US Government information

  • USA.GOV
    The US government is the best place to go to find demographic statistics, including census data, public health data, and crime statistics. The online search at USA.gov is an easy way to get started in your search.

Alyssa Wright

Profile Image
Alyssa Wright
Contact Info
Reference Librarian for the Social Sciences
Office: 1004J Downtown Campus Library
293-0337
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip