Research Guides: Engineering 191: Find books

Search for Books at WVU

WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Library catalog for locating and accessing resources across multiple libraries. Best for finding items to request from another library.

Search GoogleBooks

New Books

Advanced Vibrations by Reza N. Jazar
Call Number: TA355 .J39 2013
ISBN: 1461441595
Explains mechanical vibrations concepts in detail, concentrating on their practical use. Related theorems and formal proofs are provided, as are real-life applications.
Forensic Engineering by Stephen E. Petty (Editor)
Call Number: TH441 .F67 2013
ISBN: 143989972X
Describes methodologies (from over 7,000 field investigations) for performing insurance-related investigations including the causation and origin of damage to residential and commercial structures and/or unhealthy interior environments and adverse effects on the occupants of these structures.
Natural Gas Processing by Alireza Bahadori
Call Number: TP350 .B154 2014
ISBN: 0080999719
Publication Date: 2014-05-28
Natural gas is considered the dominant worldwide bridge between fossil fuels of today and future resources of tomorrow. Thanks to the recent shale boom in North America, natural gas is in a surplus and quickly becoming a major international commodity.
Security and Privacy in Smart Grids by Yang Xiao (Editor)
ISBN: 1439877831
Publication Date: 2013-07-25
Identifies state-of-the-art approaches and novel technologies for smart grid communication and security. It investigates the fundamental aspects and applications of smart grid security and privacy and reports on the latest advances in the range of related areas"making it an ideal reference for students, researchers, and engineers in these fields."

Help Finding Books

Books are available in different formats: Print and Electronic.

Find WVU's printed books through the catalog WorldCat.

Electronic Books can be accessed through database pages, and sometimes WorldCat. GoogleBooks is good for older books (pre-1923).

Books not owned by WVU can be requested by E-ZBorrow or InterLibrary Loan--ILLiad.

WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window

Electronic Books

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
AccessEngineering is a redesign of the online engineering resource formerly known as McGraw-Hill's Digital Engineering Library. The new-user focused design enhances this online resource of engineering content, and will support all levels of scientific and technical research in the corporate, industrial, government and academic sectors.
Knovel This link opens in a new window
Knovel is a database which includes some of the leading science and engineering reference handbooks, databases, and conference proceedings. Knovel provides aggregated engineering and applied science data that can be accessed globally utilizing proprietary tabular analysis tools. The combination of aggregated information, proprietary analysis tools, and technology empowers librarians, engineers, and researchers to attain information across multiple sources and information formats, bringing unprecedented reach and capabilities to research needs.
Springer eBooks This link opens in a new window
Springer eBooks includes more than 23,000 eBook titles, divided into twelve subject collections: behavioral science; computer science; biomedical and life sciences; engineering; medicine; mathematics and statistics; humanities, social sciences and law; physics and astronomy; business and economics; earth and environmental science; chemistry and materials science; professional and applied computing; and architecture and design.

New Electronic Books

Drinking Water Security for Engineers, Planners, and Managers by Ravi Jain (Editor)
ISBN: 0124114660
Publication Date: 2014-02-10
Overview of issues including infrastructure planning, planning to evaluate vulnerabilities and potential threats, capital improvement planning, and maintenance and risk management. This book also covers topics regarding potential contaminants, available water security technologies, analytical methods, and sensor technologies and networks.
Environmental and Architectural Acoustics by Zyun-iti Maekawa; Jens H. Rindel; Peter Lord
ISBN: 0415449006
Publication Date: 2010-12-14
Multi-disciplinary approach to the practice of achieving a more acceptable acoustic environment, this book draws on the same basic principles to cover both the outdoors and indoor space. It starts with the fundamentals of sound waves and hearing and goes on to the measurement of noise and vibration, room acoustics, sound absorption, airborne sound insulation and noise and vibration control
Finite Element Analysis and Design of Metal Structures by Ehab Ellobody; Ran Feng; Ben Young
ISBN: 9780124165618
Publication Date: 2013-09-20
From concept to assembly, Finite Element Analysis and Design of Metal Structures provides civil and structural engineers with the concepts and procedures needed to build accurate numerical models without using expensive laboratory testing methods.
Grasping in Robotics by Giuseppe Carbone (Editor)
ISBN: 9781447146636
Publication Date: 2012-11-15
Robotized grasping, mechanical design issues, control issues, modelling achievements and issues, formulations and software for simulation purposes, sensors and vision integration, applications in industrial field and non-conventional applications (including service robotics and agriculture).