Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Popular / American Culture Research Guide  Tags: pop_culture american_studies media_studies  

Resources for American studies, cultural studies, and popular culture.
Last update: Oct 28th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.wvu.edu/popculture  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Media             Print Page
  

The Internet, Archived

  • The Internet Archive  
    The Internet Archive is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Watch movies, browse pages, listen to audio and music, and visit the Internet Wayback machine.
  • Library of Congress Web Archive  
 

Media Databases / Websites

  • Classical Music Library  
    Classical Music Library is a multi-label database of Classical music recordings for listening and learning in libraries. Coverage includes music written from the earliest times to the present, including many contemporary composers.
  • Dance in Video  
    Dance in Video contains dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century.
  • Theatre in Video  
    Theatre in Video contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all.
  • Vanderbilt Television News Archive  
    Index to regularly scheduled newscasts from 1968 to the present from ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN and Fox News. Video clips or complete programs may be borrowed for a fee. CNN video may be viewed online.
  • Hulu  
    Hulu.com is a free online video service that offers hit TV shows and movies.
  • JustinTV  
    Justin.tv broadcasts live video; users can broadcast and share video online.
  • YouTube  
 

Internet Movie Resources

  • Brian's Drive-In Theater  
    This site has photos and information about 'B' movie actors and actresses from the 1930s through the 1980s.
  • Internet Movie Database  
    The Internet Movie Database (IMDb) is an online database of information related to movies, actors, television shows, and production crew personnel.
  • Rotten Tomatoes  
    Website devoted to movie reviews.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait