Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

American Literature Research Guide  Tags: american_lit primary_sources american_literature  

Research resources for American literature from its beginning to the present.
Last update: Nov 13th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.wvu.edu/americanlitI  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Primary Sources             Print Page
  

Primary Sources (Seventeenth to Nineteenth Century)

  • American Periodical Series  
    APS Online contains full digital images of over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years-from colonial times to the advent of American involvement in World War II.
  • Early American Imprints  
    37,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides provide primary source documents on nearly every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America.
  • Early English Books Online  
    In addition to early copies of great literary works, the collection includes historical materials such as royal statutes and proclamations, almanacs, broadsides and works on religion and science.
  • Eighteenth Century Collections Online  
    138,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800, digitized and fully searchable.
  • footnote  
    Available only on-campus
    Historical documents collections, most never before available before on the Internet, relating to the Revolutionary War, Civil War, WWI, WWII, U S Presidents, historical newspapers and naturalization documents.
 

Primary Sources (Nineteenth Century to Present)

  • 19th Century Masterfile  
    An index to nineteenth century periodicals, newspapers and government documents, including British Parliamentary debates. Nearly every periodical of the Nineteenth Century is covered.
  • Accessible Archives  
    Primary source material from 18th and 19th century periodicals.
  • American Civil War: Letters and Diaries  
    Primary sources including diaries, letters, and memoirs to provide access to views on almost every aspect of the war, including what was happening at home.
  • American Periodical Series  
    APS Online contains full digital images of over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years-from colonial times to the advent of American involvement in World War II.
  • footnote  
    Available only on-campus
    Historical documents collections, most never before available before on the Internet, relating to the Revolutionary War, Civil War, WWI, WWII, U S Presidents, historical newspapers and naturalization documents.
  • HarpWeek  
    Harper's Weekly is an important primary resource for examining 19th-century America, providing a comprehensive, week-to-week chronological record of what happened worldwide in the last half of the nineteenth century.
  • ProQuest Historical Newspapers  
    Full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. When digitization is complete coverage will include The New York Times, 1851-1999, and The Wall Street Journal, 1889-1985.
 

Indexes and Directories

  • ArchiveFinder  
    A current directory of 5,400 archives and 124,400 collections of primary source material across the United States.
  • Book Review Digest Retrospective  
    Book Review Digest Retrospective provides excerpts from, and citations to, reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction. 1905-1982
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait