Nonpartisan Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports are great starting points for research on a wide variety of topics, past and present. Reports often provide pro and con positions, overviews, statistics and analysis.
ICPSR is the world's largest collection of digital social science data which can be used for secondary research, instructional activities, and to write articles, papers or theses - set up MyData account to begin
Indexes and abstracts over 3,800 journals, as well as numerous books, conference reports, government documents, and statistical information in a variety of subjects, including agriculture, business, education, finance, health, political science, and the social sciences.
Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.
A source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the U.S. Census Bureau. It includes quick tables and demographic profiles, geographic comparison tables, detailed tables, custom tables, data sets, reference maps, and thematic maps.
is sponsored by the US Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. In addition, ERIC provides coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. Comprehensive coverage of the journal and report literature in the field of education.
GAO is an independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress as the "congressional watchdog," GAO investigates how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars. With virtually the entire federal government subject to its review, the agency issues over 900 reports and testimonies a year. All published reports, testimonies, correspondence, and special publications are included from 1970 to the present. The Topics of Report cover every subject the Congress covers ranging from Agriculture to Veteran Affairs. For example, search “Terrorism” will come up 700 full text publications that categorized by topics and by report types.
It provides reports, executive summaries, case studies, and guidebooks span the fields of housing and urban development, including the original electronic data sets generated by PD&R sponsored data collection efforts, including the American Housing Survey Some publications are available for downloading in the Adobe Portable Document Format (PDF) which allows the document to be downloaded, viewed, and printed with all of its original formatting and graphics.
The NTRS is a valuable resource for students, educators, researchers, and the public for access to NASA's current and historical technical literature since it was first released in 1994. NTRS provides access to approximately 500K aerospace related citations since 1962, 90K full-text online documents, and 111K images and videos. The type of information found in NTRS include: conference papers, images, journal articles, photos, meeting papers, movies, patents, research reports, and technical videos.
Most federal agencies perform and sponsor research. This is usually located in the Research & Publications section of their website.