A bibliography is a list of sources (books, journals, Web sites, periodicals, etc.) one has used for researching a topic. Bibliographies are sometimes called 'References' or 'Works Cited' depending on the style format you are using. A bibliography usually just includes the bibliographic information (i.e., the author, title, publisher, etc.).
An annotation is a summary and/or evaluation. A note of explanation or comment added to a text or diagram.
Therefore, an annotated bibliography includes a summary and/or evaluation of each of the sources. Depending on your project or the assignment, your annotations may do one or more of the following.
- Summarize: Some annotations merely summarize the source. What are the main arguments? What is the point of this book or article? What topics are covered? If someone asked what this article/book is about, what would you say? The length of your annotations will determine how detailed your summary is.
- Assess: After summarizing a source, it may be helpful to evaluate it. Is it a useful source? How does it compare with other sources in your bibliography? Is the information reliable? Is this source biased or objective? What is the goal of this source?
- Reflect: Once you've summarized and assessed a source, you need to ask how it fits into your research. Was this source helpful to you? How does it help you shape your argument? How can you use this source in your research project? Has it changed how you think about your topic?
PLEASE NOTE: You must be on Campus to create an account
- Need help with finding research topics, finding sources, or using citation systems like MLA or APA?
- Get individualized research assistance with your research.
- Request a time that fits with your schedule.
- Librarians are generally available 8:30 AM – 5:00 PM.
- Please note that we do not proofread papers nor help with writing difficulties.
- Visit our list of citation help guides, including MLA 7; MLA 8; and APA: http://libguides.wvu.edu/Citation_Guides