Skip to main content
Ask A Librarian

Imaging Science Education Programs: Citation Managers

A research guide designed to support the educational programs of Radiology, Nuclear Medicine, MRI, Radiation Therapy, and Ultrasound.

What is a Citation Manager?

Citation Manager Software helps you:

  • Collect, Organize, Cite, and Share your research sources (This is your personal database)
  • Automatically create citations using a variety of referencing styles
  • Effortlessly build bibliographies to properly cite the information that you use
  • Save and organize articles in PDF format, graphs, images, or other files for your research

Which Manager is Right for YOU?

How do you know which program is right for you? Some things to think about when you choose:

  • Hanging out at the water cooler?  Chat with fellow researchers.  For example, if your colleagues are all using Zotero to share citations, you might consider Zotero so that you can share your research, too.
  • Keep an open mind and Use what you like!  No program is perfect 100% of the time, so use what you're comfortable with.
  • The sky's the limit in research, so don't be limited by using only one management software. Records can be transferred from one program to another, so don't feel pressure to choose only one.

Ask the Experts!



Request a Time for Individual Research Help
  • Need help with finding research topics, finding sources, or using citation systems like MLA or APA?
  • Get individualized research assistance with your research.
  • Request a time that fits with your schedule.
  • Librarians are generally available 8:30 AM – 5:00 PM.
  • Please note that we do not proofread papers nor help with writing difficulties.

Zotero vs Medeley vs Endnote

Features

Zotero

Mendeley

Endnote Basic

Access

Desktop Software and Browser Add-on

Desktop Software, but can Sync with an online account

Web-based

Where is my data stored?

Locally.  Web-based syncing capability between computers

Locally.  Web-based syncing capability between computers

Web-based

How does it work?

Very intuitive.  Click the icon in the browser to add the item to your references.  Search and import records using PMID, DOI, or ISBN.  Extract citation information from PDFs.

Import information from many popular databases.  Extract citation information from PDFs.

Import information from many popular databases.

Ability to work offline?

Yes

Yes

No

Cost

Free

Free

Free to WVU Faculty, Staff and Students

Word –processing Compatibility

Desktop software and browser add-on for Firefox, Chrome, and Safari

Desktop software and web-based.  Works with IE, Firefox, Chrome, and Safari (javascript & cookies must be enabled)

Desktop software

API?

Zotpress, Biblio Bouts, phpZoteroWebDAV, Scanner for Zotero, Zandy, Zotpad, Zotero, Reader, ZotSpip, Bibbase

PaperShip, KinSync, Altmetrics, Scopus, GBIF, BibBase, PLOS, labfolder, Overleaf, OSF, Hivebench, Peerwith, Kuary, and Impactstory

PubMed

Importation Abilities

Yes

(Library catalog and databases, web pages)

Yes

(Library catalog and databases, web pages)

Yes

(Library catalog and databases, web pages)

Learning Curve?

Quick to learn; simple design, many online user guides and demos.

Quick to learn; Pretty simple interface.

Moderate to Difficult to learn.

Storage Capacity

300 MB (Free)

(Upgrade Options)

2 GB (Free)

(Upgrade options)

2 GB or 50,000 items

(Upgrade options)

Does it Back-up?

No

Yes

(as an option)

Yes

Attach Files

(PDFs, etc)

Yes

(option to attach automatically)

Yes

(can be highlighted and annotated)

Yes

Collaboration Capabilities

Yes

Yes

Yes

Create Bibliography w/ Different Styles

Yes

(limited number included, but additional styles can be downloaded)

Yes

Yes

(limited number included - 21)

Strengths

  • Easy to Learn
  • User Friendly Features (tagging, attachments, and notes)
  • Simple download for records
  • High Functionality
  • Easy Collaboration
  • Organize, read, and annotate documents in one place
  • Automatic citation extraction from PDFs
  • Easy Collaboration

 

 

  • Easy Collaboration
  • Easy to work in multiple locations
  • Can handle large numbers of references

Mobile Site or app?

Yes

(Apple and Android options)

Yes

(Apple and Android options)

No

Cited Works:  MIT Libraries ( http://libguides.mit.edu/c.php?g=176001&p=1159377), The Pennsylvania State University (http://guides.lib.uchicago.edu/c.php?g=297307&p=1984557), Mendeley.com, and Zotero.org

Other Research Guides to Consider

For MORE information on Endnote and Mendeley...these research guides can help.

 

Endnote (Basic)

Endnote (Advanced)

Mendeley

 

 

I Need Other Options...

Paper (MAC iOS)

Papers helps you collect and curate the research material that YOU are passionate about.  This reference manager will improve the way you find, organize, read, cite and share information. 

 

Paperpile

Organize your papers with folders, labels and stars. Search your library in real-time or quickly look up a paper online.  Automatically fix references with incomplete data and clean up duplicates. Always keep your library organized and clean. Effortlessly.

Readcube

Everyone has their own way of doing things, so ReadCube is easy to use alongside other tools you may be using.

  • ReadCube's desktop software is available for both Mac and PC.
  • Use ReadCube with other citation tools such as EndNote, Zotero, and many more.
  • ReadCube’s new Chrome extension enables users to easily import articles into their ReadCube library while on web.