Research Guides: Nursing 707: Evidence-Based Practice Methods: Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles and Books

Using Find It @ WVU

Use Find It @ WVU to retrieve the articles not in full text.

This link is at the bottom of each article citation.

In the Find It @ WVU window, click on Article to see full text. Click on For Journal to search the online catalog. for a print copy. If WVU does not have an electronic or print copy, you can order the article through ILLiad.

Questions? Contact me:

Faythe Thurman

Email Me

Contact:

WVU Health Sciences Library
PO Box 9801
Morgantown, WV 26506-9801

304-293-1718

Subjects: Nursing

Finding Articles: Search for Nursing-Related Articles

CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete is a major research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature, with more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1982. The database provides full text for more than 1,300 nursing & allied health journals indexed in CINAHL.

To search individual databases, choose from this list:

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including the Database of Systematic Reviews, the Database of Reviews of Effectiveness, and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Contains two million references and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in the field of psychology. Journal coverage, which spans from 1872 to the present, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 35 languages. More than 60,000 records are added each year. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Examples of titles offered in PsycINFO include: Academic Medicine, Academic Psychiatry, Behavior Genetics, Behavioral Disorders, Journal of Abnormal Child Psychology, Journal of Applied Social Psychology, Journal of Behavioral Medicine, Journal of Psychiatry & Neuroscience, Journal of Psychology, Psychoanalytic Psychology, Psychological Assessment, Psychological Medicine, etc.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's gateway to MEDLINE, a National Library of Medicine bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,200 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries.

Searching for Books

For books available at WVU, consult WorldCat, WVUL's online catalog.

Need something that WVU doesn't have?

Interlibrary Loan and E-ZBorrow Services

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) services are extended to all WVU students, faculty, and staff. ILL and E-ZBorrow can borrow materials from other libraries for you.
E-ZBorrow requests books from other academic libraries in the PALCI consortium and generally takes 3-5 days. ILL requests items from libraries all over the world and can take 3 days or more.
You may place your ILL request online at http://illiad.lib.wvu.edu/ or https://lib.wvu.edu/services/borrowing/ezborrow/. You will need to register with ILLiad before ordering.
ILL and E-ZBorrow requests are usually processed within 24 hours. Please include clear identifying information about the items you need when you send your request.

For books not available at WVU, use E-Z Borrow:

E-ZBorrow is sometimes faster than ILLiad

Warning! E-ZBorrow works best for finding specific items. Subject searching from the E-ZBorrow screen can be slow. It's faster to search by subject in other databases, such as WorldCat, and then look for the exact titles or authors in E-ZBorrow.

Logon to E-ZBorrow

Types of Peer-Reviewed Articles

The three most common types of peer review are:

Single blind - In this type of peer review the author does not know who the reviewers are. This is the most common form of peer review among science journals.
Double blind - In this type of peer review the reviewers don't know the identity of authors, and vice versa. This is the most common form of peer review amongst social science and humanities journals.
Open review - The identity of the author and the reviewers are known by all participants. There is a growing minority of journals using this form of peer review but popularity among reviewers is yet to be proven.