Skip to main content
Ask A Librarian

Entrepreneurship & Business Planning Research Guide

This guide provides access to basic entrepreneurial research resources available through WVU and on the open web

Business Citations

Important Note on Citing Business Resources:

Although the APA provides clear instructions on how to cite standard publication types, some business-specific resources include unique information that doesn't directly match APA instructions. Because of that, some of the examples and instructions on this page represent the WVU Libraries' interpretation of APA rules. 

For citing resources in standard article databases including: ABI/INFORM, Factiva, and Business Source Premier, please consult the Journal Articles or Magazine & News Articles tabs.

If you have questions about citing your specific source, please contact the WVU Libraries.

Advertising Red Books

Advertising Red Books. (2016). Under Armour, Inc. profile: Media spend. Retrieved from Advertising Red Books database.

Advertising Red Books. (2016). droga5 profile. Retrieved from Advertising Red Books database.

Bloomberg BNA

 BNA publications are commonly cited in briefs, memorandums, law reviews, and court opinions. Articles in Bloomberg BNA are typically cited in Bluebook format, even in otherwise APA documents. The following guide offers Bluebook citations for the majority of BNA publications.

China Data Online

All China Marketing Research.(2001-2004) Casting Machinery(Basic Condition). China Monthly Industrial Data 1999-2002 (Economy Index). Retrieved from China Data Online.

Gartner

Lopez, J. & Raskino, M. (2006). What information will executives need in 2012? Retrieved from Gartner database.

Klappich, C. D., & Eschinger, C. (2010, November 18). Oracle OpenWorld 2010: Oracle supply chain management on the move (ID: G00208462). Retrieved from Gartner database.

globalEDGE

MSU-CIBER globalEDGE. (2007). Country insights: Ireland. Retrieved November 13, 2007, from http://globaledge.msu.edu/.

IBISWorld

Dai, R. (2010, November). IT consulting in the US: IBISWorld industry report 54151. Retrieved from IBISWorld database.

Soshkin, M. (2015, June). Armored Transportation Services in the US: IBISWorld Industry Report OD5925. Retrieved from IBISWorld database.

Mergent Intellect

Dun and Bradstreet. (n.d.). Loblaws Inc. Retrieved January 13, 2014, from Mergent Intellect database.

Mergent Online

Apple Inc. (2015, October 30). Form 10-K. Retrieved from Mergent Online database.

Mergent Inc. (n.d.). Apple, Inc.: Business segments. Retrieved May 15, 2016, from Mergent Online database.

Mergent Inc. (n.d.) Apple, Inc.: Financial details report. Retrieved January 12, 2016, from Mergent Online database.

Mergent Inc. (2015, February 28). McDonald's Corp.: Ford Equity research report. Retrieved from Mergent Online database.

Mergent Inc. (n.d.). Microsoft Corporation: Full company report. Retrieved March 13, 2016, from Mergent Online database.

Mintel

Harland, B. (2015, June). Attitudes toward Gaming - US. Retrieved from Mintel database.

Rogers, L. (2015, September). America's Pet Owners - US. Retrieved from Mintel database.

OECD iLibrary

OECD provides citation information for all formats in iLibrary. Look for a link on the right that says: "Cite this publication"; "Cite this dataset; "Cite this graph"; "Cite this table", etc.

Plunkett Research Online

Plunkett Research Ltd. (2015, September 4). Introduction to the Travel Industry. Airlines, Hotels & Travel Industry. Retrieved May 17, 2016from Plunkett Research Online database.

Plunkett Research, Ltd. (n.d.). Delta Air Lines Inc. Airlines [Company profile]. Hotels & Travel Industry. Retrieved August 3, 2015, from Plunkett Research Online database.

PrivCo

PrivCo.(2014, February 11). Pinterest Inc.: Private company financial report. Retrieved May 14, 2016, from PrivCo database.

PrivCo.(2008, February). Spotify Ltd. receives Series A investment from Creandum AB, Li Ka-Shing, Northzone Ventures, and others. Retrieved August 20, 2013, from PrivCo database.

ReferenceUSA

Infogroup, Inc. (n.d.). Badnasty Paintball [Company profile]. Retrieved May 1, 2016, from ReferenceUSA database.

Richard K. Miller & Associates (RKMA)

Miller, R. K., & Washington, K. (2016). Business-To-Business Marketing 2016-2017. Loganville, GA: Richard K. Miller & Associates.

Simmons OneView

Simmons Market Research (2014). Fall 2014 NHCS Adult Study 6 Month [Data File]. Retrieved January 21, 2017, from Simmons OneView database.

Sports Business Research Network (SBRNet)

Tables/Data Examples:

National Sporting Goods Association. (n.d.). Participation (ages 7+) ranking: Females (no. of part. in thous.) [Data]. Retrieved January 29, 2015, from SBRnet database.

SBRNet. (n.d.). Sports fan market/market size, by sport: Number of fans. [Data]. Retrieved March 13, 2015, from SBRnet database.

Articles/Reports Examples:

February outdoor product sales slip on continued footwear weakness... (2014, March 10). The B.O.S.S. Report. Retrieved from SBRnet database.

RSV pro facilities report: Boston Red Sox. (2014, March). Retrieved from SBRnet database.

SRDS Media Solutions

SRDS. (n.d.). State Analysis -  Virginia & Washington. SRDS Circulation 2016. Retrieved May 10, 2016, from SRDS Media Solutions database.

SRDS. (n.d.). The Boston Globe [Publication profile]. Newspaper Advertising Source.Retrieved November 30, 2010, from SRDS Media Solutions database.

Claritas, Inc. (2010). Boston, MA/Manchester, NH [DMA profile]. Radio Advertising Source.  Retrieved December 14, 2010, from SRDS Media Solutions database.

Statista

Alphaliner. (2016). The world's leading container ship operators as of May 17, 2016, based on total number of ships. Retrieved from Statista database.

Janßen, B., Krützfeldt, W., Ramcke, K. & Staffa, V. (2014, August). Industry report - Computer and electronic product manufacturing NAICS Code 334. Retrieved from Statista database.

Bureau of Labor Statistics. (2016, May). Monthly percentage of change in real average hourly earnings for all employees April 2015 to April 2016 [Chart]. Retrieved from Statista database.

Website (TiVo). (February 2014). Distribution of time Millennials spent watching video content in the United States as of December 2013, by type [Chart]. Retrieved from Statista database.

Thomson ONE

Google Inc. (2009, December 31). Annual report.  Retrieved from Thomson ONE database.

Google Inc. (2010, September 30). Form 10-Q. Retrieved from Thomson ONE database.

Milunovich, S. & Christiansen, P. (2015, May 1). Apple Inc.: Evidence lab Apple Watch monitor continues to show tepid interest; reducing watch estimates. UBS Global Research. Retrieved from Thomson ONE database.

Other business citation resources