Logging in to HathiTrust allows you to create and save permanent collections. You can also access download full-text of various items in the collection.
Title not available in full-text?
Try the following:
Search within the full-text to see if the book would be useful
Click "Find in a library" to find it in a library near you.
View it on your computer
Use the Icons on the right hand side of the page to choose the way you would like to view the document
Scroll: Allows you to view one page at a time and use the scroll option to procede to the next page
Flip: Allows you to view the document like a book and view two pages at a time.
Thumbnail: See Thumbnail imprints for each page in the document. Allows you to quickly browse the document.
Page by Page: View the one page of the document
Plain Text: Change the document into plain text.
Use Navigation Options above the document to move around the document, search the document, or change the page.
Jump to: Enter the page number you would like to go to.
Jump to Section: Opens a table of contents that allows you to select a section you would like to go to.
Jump to Selected Page: You can bookmark pages by click in the top corner of the page. A orange arrow will indicate that this has been done. Allows you to select a bookmark page to go to.
Search the text: Allows you to search for text in the document.
Navigation Arrows: Allows you to turn the page or jump to the first or last page.
Download the PDF to Save or Print
Use the options in the left-hand column to download sections of the document or the whole document.
Download Page or Download Left Page / Right Page: Allows you to download a pdf of a single page. This can be done without logging in.
Download Pages: You can bookmark pages by click in the top corner of the page. A orange arrow will indicate that this has been done. From this option you can then download the pages that you have bookmarked.You must be logged in to do this.
Download Whole Book: Download the entire document. You must be logged in to do this.
Why are some titles "search only?"
HathiTrust scans titles regardless of their copyright status. For works in the public domain or not otherwise protected under copyright (orphaned works, government documents, etc.), HathiTrust allows full-text view.
It is considered a transformative use under US Copyright law to provide a searchable index the full-text of books and other materials. However, HathiTrust would be breaking the law if it provided full-text view of volumes still protected by copyright.