This guide was created to encourage thoughtful, honest, and respectful dialog amongst the WVU community. It is appropriate to use all or parts of this guide in any class tackling the complex issues surrounding racial violence, race relations, racial identity, diversity, and/or social justice in the United States. If you have recommendations for additional resources to be added to this ever-evolving guide, please contact the guide administrator.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers - Black Newspapers
Primary source material essential to the study of American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts. Examine major movements from the Harlem Renaissance to Civil Rights, and explore everyday life.
Access a wide range of resources for genealogical and historical research, including United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more.
Scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research, with full text accessible via WVU Library subscriptions. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Accessible Archives contains the 19th Century African American Newspaper Collection, which contains a wealth of information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s, and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day.
Harper's Weekly is an important primary resource for examining 19th-century America, providing a comprehensive, week-to-week chronological record of what happened worldwide in the last half of the nineteenth century.
Provides full-text documents from over 5,900 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications including national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
BlackPressUSA.com is the joint web presence of America’s Black community newspapers and the NNPA News Service — the last national Black Press news wire. It is a project of the Black Press Institute, a partnership between the National Newspaper Publishers Association Foundation and Howard University.
The CBC&R will contribute to your personal growth and development by being there for you during the adjustment into University life. Students are the greatest asset to the Center, and they will do everything possible to help you reach your full potential as individual members of our academic community.