Published annually by the UN Conference on Trade & Development, The Handbook of Statistics provides a comprehensive collection of statistical data relevant to the analysis of international trade, investment and development, for individual countries and for economic and trade groupings.
The official portal of the Statistical Office of the European Communities, Eurostat provides extensive statistical data and publications on EU countries. Browse or search and download predefined data and tables focused on: EU policy indicators; general and regional statistics; economy and finance; population and social conditions; industry, trade and services; agriculture and fisheries; external trade; transport; environment and energy; and, science and technology.
From the Inter-American Development Bank, DataGov provides publicly available governance indicators by country or region. It contains approximately 400 governance indicators grouped within five categories: Democratic system, market system, public management, rule of law, and socioeconomic indicators. (Requires Flash plugin)
Provided by the U.S. Census Bureau, this site provides a list of links to international statistical agencies. This website is a good source for country-specific social and economic indicators, including national census data.
The Demographic Yearbook has been collecting, compiling and disseminating official statistics on population size and composition, births, deaths, marriage and divorce on an annual basis through the United Nations Statistics Division since 1948. Special topics issues cover a wide range of additional topics including economic activity, educational attainment, household characteristics, housing, ethnicity and language, among others.
The U.S. Census Bureau conducts demographic, economic, and geographic studies of other countries. Resources include the International Data Base (IDB) which includes demographic indicators, population pyramids, and source information for countries and areas with a population of 5,000 or more, Global Population Mapping, and more.
The UNdata hub offers central access to the various United Nations statistical databases covering topics including Agriculture, Education, Employment, Energy, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Tourism, and Trade.
The World Databank (TM) DataBank is an analysis and visualization tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics including sovereign debt, education, health, and the environment.