Skip to main content
Ask A Librarian

Religious Studies 223: Christianity in America

Resources to support the research for students of RELG 223

Diaries, Letters, Memiors

  • American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
    Primary sources including diaries, letters, and memoirs to provide access to views on almost every aspect of the war, including what was happening at home.
  • Oxford African American Studies Center
    A collection of scholarship, including 8,000 articles and primary source documents, focusing on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.

Historic Newspapers

 The articles in historic newspapers are not indexed by subject.  For best results:

  • Use keywords that reflect the language of the time
  • Search by date to find articles about major events
  • Use limits to narrow by type of article 

ProQuest Historical Newspapers

  • Full-text and full-image articles for the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal, dating back to the 19th century.


ProQuest Historical Newspapers - Black Newspapers

  • Primary source material essential to the study of American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts. Examine major movements from the Harlem Renaissance to Civil Rights, and explore everyday life.

Periodical & Book Collections

Accessible Archives

Primary source material from 18th and 19th century periodicals provides good coverage of Revolutionary and Civil War events.

APS Online - American Periodical Series Online

APS Online contains full digital images of over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years-from colonial times to the advent of American involvement in World War II.

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1630-1800

37,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides provide primary source documents on nearly every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America. Includes Music, Religion, Temperance, Witchcraft, Catechisms, Hieroglyphic Bibles, Hymnals, Hymns, Liturgical books, Prayer Books, Prayers, Psalters, Sermons and more. 

HarpWeek

Harper's Weekly is an important primary resource for examining 19th-century America, providing a comprehensive, week-to-week chronological record of what happened worldwide in the last half of the nineteenth century.