Skip to main content
Ask A Librarian

Guide to Doing Library Research: Library Module for Nursing Resources: Library Classes

Get help with library research. This guide includes tutorials for searching library databases and provides links to library resources for nurses.

Register

 

Register for library classes by contacting Virginia Desouky at:  Virginia.Desouky@mail.wvu.edu or (304) 293-1921.

Library Classes

 

PubMed
Discover how PubMed (MEDLINE) can be utilized as an effective tool for the research process, and how it relates to other databases from the National Library of Medicine.
  • Thursday, September 18 from 1:00-2:00 (LC 1)
  • Wednesday, October 8 from 10:00-11:00 (LC 1)
  • Wednesday, November 19 from 1:00-2:00 (LC 1)

Advanced PubMed   
This workshop is for those who are experienced PubMed searchers. Topics include searching with Clinical Queries, using the MeSH (Medical Subject Heading) database, creating a personal account using MyNCBI to save searches, and exporting results into RefWorks. 

  •       March 9, 2017 from 10:00-11:00 (LC 2)
RefWorks
RefWorks is a tool for creating and storing a personal database of research, managing RSS alerts, sharing research with colleagues, and creating bibliographies in multiple formats. Learn how to create a personal database online and store an unlimited number of records accessible from any computer linked to the Internet. No downloading software or installation required. Learn how to import references automatically from multiple databases, organize and manage references, and share references to easily collaborate with members of your own institution or with other researchers, faculty members, and students.
  • Thursday, February 16, 2017 from 10:00-11:00 (LC 2)

 

EndNote Desktop
EndNote is a software program that allows you to store and manage your references and images. Learn how to build a personal reference library and format your references in whatever style you choose -- APA, Vancouver, Chicago Manual of Style, etc. Use Cite While You Write, a word processing software, to allow you to insert citations directly into your paper, building your bibliography as you insert your citations. Learn how to export references from online databases directly to your EndNote library and how to attach files to references. This is an introductory level class, and no prior knowledge of EndNote is needed.

  •      To be announced.

EndNote Basic
EndNote Basic is a companion web version of the desktop EndNote, provided as part of the Web of Science database. It is used to collect and organize references as well as cite them while writing a paper. It can also be a powerful collaboration tool. Learn how to quickly and easily collect reference information from a wide variety of online databases via direct export, online search, or importing as text files. Use Cite While You Write to insert references and format citations and bibliographies. This is an introductory level class, and no prior knowledge of EndNote is needed.

  • To be announced.

Mendeley

Mendeley is a free citation management program that helps you organize your citations, format bibliographies in MS Word, connect with other researchers in your field, discover trending articles in your area of interest, and collaborate with research teams.   With both a desktop client and a web application, it's easy to access your research from anywhere in the world. 

  • Thursday, March 16, 2017 from 11:00-noon in LC2

 

Subject Guide

Virginia Desouky's picture
Virginia Desouky
Contact:
Office:
1168B
Health Sciences North
Office: 3042931921
Subjects:Nursing