Skip to main content
Ask A Librarian

MUSIC 771: Identifying Archives and Major Research Centers in North America

Introduction to Library Research and Bibliography

Databases that may help

Archive Finder 

--note that you can focus your search to collections or repositories

--don't forget to search for both singular and plural forms of nouns


WorldCat

--choose the item type "Archival Materials"

--leave the item type open and add the keyword [archive*]

 

ArchiveGrid

--archival material descriptions for institutions in the United States.  Much of the content comes from WorldCat.

 

Google

--use Boolean operators to focus your search;  example:  (archive* OR research collection*) AND cowboy* AND (songs OR ballads OR music)

 

Encyclopedia Entries

Check the major articles on your topic for information on research collections and archives.  

Remember that Grove and Garland are geographically oriented.  For example, if you were researching the folk music of Denmark, locate the Grove article on Denmark (this link will only work from on-campus).  Use the table of contents on the left to open the Traditional Music section.  Note the heading for "Collections" and "Research."

Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart is not available online, but we have the print volumes in Evansdale Library reference.  (First translate your keyword(s) to German, then search.)

 

Encyclopedia of Associations

Go to the Publications search box and enter [associations].  Select Encyclopedia of Associations and use the Quick Search box on the left.

Is there an organization related to your topic?  Do they have a website?  Do they have a library (aka research collection)?

Subject Guide

Beth Royall's picture
Beth Royall
Contact:
Evansdale Library 106
304-293-9755
Subjects:Art, Music, Theater