Research Guides: History of Medicine Guide: Articles and Journals

Finding Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Offers a good starting point for research on nearly any topic, covering most areas of academic study and containing full text for 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals.

To find articles on history of medicine topics, you can browse through the journals listed in the adjacent box or search one of the databases below. To see the complete list of article and citation databases that WVU Libraries subscribes to, check out the databases page.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's gateway to MEDLINE, a National Library of Medicine bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,200 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries.
America History and Life This link opens in a new window
Covers US and Canadian history from prehistory to the present, providing references to journal articles, books, dissertations and reviews. America: History and Life covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide, including all key English-language historical journals and selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals. Although full text is not included in this database, the Find It @ WVU service provides links to full text from other databases when available.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.
Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography This link opens in a new window
Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.
American Men and Women of Science - 24th Edition This link opens in a new window
Profiles living persons in the physical and biological fields, as well as public health scientists, engineers, mathematicians, statisticians, and computer scientists.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research, with full text accessible via WVU Library subscriptions. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Links to library electronic resources are available to WVU students and faculty.

Using Find It @ WVU

When searching through databases, you may see an option to Find it @ WVU - this feature links databases to the WVU Library holdings.

If you click on the Find it @ WVU option, it will direct you to our holdings, where there will either be a link to the full text, or an option to request it through Illiad.

When accessing items that are off campus, you will need to be logged in to the library website in order to see the full text links to items we have holdings to.

Interlibrary Loan

If the WVU Libraries don't have access to an article, you can request it from a partnering library using our Interlibrary Loan (Illiad) Service.

If you have never used Illiad before, you will be asked to set up your account before making a request.

Article requests are typically filled within 2 days of the request being made, whereas physical materials may take up to 2 weeks.

Searching for History of Medicine in PubMed Using Limits

Here's a tip for searching for history of medicine articles in PubMed using limits. Enter your topic in the search box and then click on the Limits link above it. In the Subsets section, scroll down to History of Medicine and check the box next to it. Check any other limits that might apply. Then click search. You will see on the results screen that limits have been activated. This subset was created by the National Library of Medicine to facilitate searching for history topics and should return more precise results.

NOTE: Always enter PubMed through the Libraries website so links to full text content will appear.

History of Medicine Journals

Bulletin of the History of Medicine
The leading journal in its field for more than three quarters of a century, the Bulletin is the official publication of the American Association for the History of Medicine and the Johns Hopkins Institute of the History of Medicine. Each issue spans the social, cultural, and scientific aspects of the history of medicine worldwide and includes reviews of recent books on medical history.

This list is a selection of journals that relate to the History of Medicine. Additional journals may be found on the libraries' ejournals, newspapers, & magazines page.

History of Medicine On-Line
Context. Perspective. The media, writers, technologists, and every facet of modern medicine bandy about these words. Yet, context and perspective is exactly what the new History of Medicine section is all about. Through the pages of History of Medicine On-Line the history of medicine will be told such that it provides context and perspective on the current and future state of medicine.
Journal of the History of Medicine and Allied Sciences
The journal covers a broad range of topics in medical history and related subjects. While recognizing the value of medical history as historically conceptualized, JHMAS also aims to publish papers that cross disciplines, traditional international boundaries, and historiographic categories.
Medical History
Medical History is a refereed journal devoted to all aspects of the history of medicine and health, with the goal of broadening and deepening the understanding of the field, in the widest sense, by historical studies of the highest quality. It is also the journal of the European Association for the History of Medicine and Health.
Clio Medica / The Wellcome Series in the History of Medicine
The Wellcome Series in the History of Medicine provides a regular and active forum for the publication of research into the history of medicine and health care in all their branches in various cultures and all time periods.
Wellcome Witnesses to Twentieth Century Medicine
The volumes in this series contain transcripts of the Witness Seminars at which significant figures in twentieth-century medicine are invited to discuss specific discoveries or events in recent medical history. All papers and records collected during the organization of the meetings and editing of the transcripts are deposited in Archives and Manuscripts, Wellcome Library, London, in collection GC/253.
Early Science and Medicine
Early Science and Medicine is a peer-reviewed international quarterly dedicated to the history of science, medicine and technology from the earliest times through to the end of the eighteenth century.

Off Campus Access

To access electronic resources (e-books, e-journals, & databases) from off campus, you will need to log in with your WVU Username and Password.

Forget your username or password? Find information on your account here.