Skip to main content
Ask A Librarian

Research in Undergraduate Mathematics Education (RUME) Resources: Citing Your Sources

Cite While You Write

Cite While You Write is a plug-in for Microsoft Word.  It allows you to create in-text citations and a bibliography as you write your paper.

To download the plug-in for Word:

  1. Log on to EndNote Web.
  2. Click on the Options Tab and then Download Installers.
  3. Follow the instructions for your specific operating system, Windows or Mac. 

To begin using Cite While You Write:

  1. Open a new document in Word
  2. Cick on the tab for EndNote Web
  3. Click on Preferences to enter your user name and password as the default logon
  4. In the Preferences box, click on Application and complete the form
  5. Begin typing your paper
  6. When you want to insert a reference, click on Find Citations
  7. Search on an author's name or a topic which is contained in your EndNote Web database
  8. Then click on Insert in the same window
  9. Now a miracle happens, you have an in text citation and a reference in a bibliography
  10. Change the format of the citations and bibliography by changing the Style: in the pull down menu

To learn more, watch the Cite While You Write tutorial.  

RefWorks

RefWorks: Why Bother? video

What is RefWorks?

RefWorks is a web-based tool that helps you manage citations, create bibliographies, and import references from databases. It can convert stored citations into formatted bibliographies. Formatting styles include APA, Chicago, and MLA.

Why RefWorks? Comparison chart with other bibliographic managers.

Access

You can connect to RefWorks from the Libraries' home page. To store your citations, you are required to register with the site. Creating an account is free.

  • Group Code: If you are prompted to login by first proving a subscriber group code, ask at a Reference Desk.

Creating Formatted Bibliographies

To generate a reference list, use the Bibliography menu and select your desired output style.

Getting Help

An extensive RefWorks Quick Start Guide is available for your convenience. Please refer to the RefWorks tutorial and RefWorks help pages for additional information on using RefWorks, and Ask a Librarian for more help with RefWorks.

 

RefWorks for WVU Graduates

The Alumni Program will provide lifelong access to users that are alumni of subscribing institutions. As long as an institution subscribes to RefWorks, alumni will have access, allowing them to continue using their personal research databases for future professional and academic endeavors.

To learn more about the Alumni Program, got to the FAQ.