Skip to main content
Ask A Librarian

EndNote Online: Advanced Guide: Create a Bibliography/Cite While You Write

Create a Bibliography

  1. Logon to EndNote Online
  2. Click on the Format tab, then Bibliography
  3. Use References: to select the Group
  4. Select the Bibliographic Style
  5. Select the Format for your bibliography
  6. Select Save, E-mail, or Preview and Print
  7. Important!  Be sure to check the bibliography against the style you are using

Cite While You Write

Cite While You Write is a plug-in for Microsoft Word.  It allows you to create in-text citations and a bibliography as you write your paper.

To download the plug-in for Word:

  1. Log on to EndNote Online.
  2. Click on the Options Tab and then Download Installers.
  3. Follow the instructions for your specific operating system, Windows or Mac. 

To begin using Cite While You Write:

  1. Open a new document in Word
  2. Click on the tab for EndNote Online
  3. Click on Preferences to enter your user name and password as the default logon
  4. In the Preferences box, click on Application and complete the form
  5. Begin typing your paper
  6. When you want to insert a reference, click on Find Citations
  7. Search on an author's name or a topic which is contained in your EndNote Web database
  8. Then click on Insert in the same window
  9. Now a miracle happens, you have an in text citation and a reference in a bibliography
  10. Change the format of the citations and bibliography by changing the Style: in the pull down menu

    To learn more, watch the Cite While You Write tutorial.