Skip to main content
Ask A Librarian

Finding Images, Audio, and Video: Images

Find multimedia in online resources provided by the library and freely available on the web. Learn to cite multimedia resources in your research.

Library Images

Image & Sound Databases

Searchable WVU Digital Collections

Cross search indexes including the online catalog to the West Virginia University Art Collection consisting of paintings, prints, drawings, sculpture and artworks in other forms dating from the approximately the Middle Ages to the present. Also includes photographs of or relevant to virtually all subjects and places in West Virginia. Collections include:

West Virginia History OnView
Explore West Virginia historical photographs. The West Virginia and Regional History Collection contains the most comprehensive collection of historic photographs pertaining to West Virginia in existence.  

Images on the Web

AltaVista Image Search
One of the most comprehensive database of images on the web. Includes the Corbis photo database. A search returns up to 20 thumbnails at a time. Defaults to use of a family filter.

Artcyclopedia
An index of hundreds of museum sites and image archives. Visitors can search by artist's name, artwork title, and museum, or browse by name, medium, subject, nationality, women artists, or art movement.

Ask Jeeves Picture Search
Features suggestions that are conceptually categorized into three segments: Narrow Your Search, Expand Your Search and Related Names.

Bridgeman Art Library
A leading source of fine art images from over 8,000 collections and 29,000 artists, representing museums and galleries worldwide.

Clip Art Searcher
Search forms for images in Google, Anzwers, HotBot, and Gigablast, plus 1-Click searches on Yahoo and Usseek.

Google: Image Search
Billions of images indexed and available for viewing. On the results page, select the thumbnail to see a larger version of the image, as well as the web page on which the image is located.

MSN Search: Bing Images
Allows you to sort results by all, large, medium, small, color, and black & white.

Picsearch
Relevancy ranked thumbnails are linked to the original site where the image is located. Uses a family filter.

Yahoo! Search: Images
Suggests related terms; allows sorting by wallpaper, large, medium, small, and black & white; uses SafeSearch by default.