Skip to main content
Ask A Librarian

Policy Issues in Women's Health: Citing Sources & APA

Resources for Public Administration (PUBA0773)

APA Citation Style Guide

APA Documentation Guide from the University of Wisconsin at Madison

APA Style.org from the American Psychological Association

Basic Guide to APA Documentation from West Virginia University Libraries

  Plagiarism and How to Avoid It

Click on the link below to view the plagiarism avoidance tutorial.

Refworks at WVU

 

Refworks logo @ WVU

RefWorks Helps You Manage Citations and Add Them to Your Papers

 

RefWorks Bibliography Manager is available for free to West Virginia University faculty, staff and students by the University Library.

 

Click here to access Refworks.

Set Up an Individual Account

At the RefWorks login page, click on “New to RefWorks”?

Sign up for an Individual Account. Fill in the required fields. NOTE: You choose your own username and password. You can create as many accounts as you want, share your account with others, and save as many references as you want.

 

After the required fields have been filled in, click on “Register” and your account will be set up; you may begin using RefWorks. You will receive an email confirmation that provides your  GROUP CODE. Keep it! You may need the group code if you are accessing RefWorks from off-campus.

Add Citations to Refworks 6 Ways

1. Direct Imports. Many of our databases (including Google Scholar!) allow you to directly export citations into RefWorks.

2. Importing Citations and Abstracts from a Text File Using a RefWorks Filter. While some databases do not offer direct importing, you can save the citations to a text file and then use one of the RefWorks filters to import the citations into RefWorks.

3. Entering References Manually. You may create new references and type or cut and paste the data into the citation. Choose Add New Reference in the RefWorks References menu.

4. Use RefWorks to Search PubMed or Online Library Catalogs. PubMed and library catalogs can be searched from within RefWorks. Citations will directly import into RefWorks. To search, click on Search, Online Catalog or Database, and select the resource you need to search.

5. Import from EndNote. Former EndNote users may import their EndNote citations directly into RefWorks. (Exporting works, too.)

6. Import using RefGrab-It. Install this bookmarklet in your browser’s toolbar and click on it to easily create RefWorks citations for web pages. Also works for individual PubMed citations. Get it from within RefWorks: Tools / RefGrab-It.

Manage Your Citations with Folders

Creating Folders

Go to the Folders menu at the top of your RefWorks screen and choose Create New Folder. You can create as many folders as you like, and assign as many references to as many folders as you like. Think of Folders as “tags.”

Last Imported Folder

When you import citations from a library database or some other source RefWorks puts them into a folder called Last Imported Folder. Assign the references to one or more folders. If you don’t assign them to a folder, they will be in the References Not in a Folder folder, as well as in All References.

Add Citations to a Research Paper: Write-N-Cite

·          Download and install the “Write-N-Cite for Word” plugin: From within RefWorks, click on Tools, Write-N-Cite, and download & install the Windows or Mac version. You may install the W-n-C shortcut on your desktop, or in Word.

·          Open Word, and start typing your paper (or open a Word document that you’ve already created).

·          Open Write-N-Cite from the desktop shortcut or from within Word: Tools / RefWorks Write-N-Cite. A new window will open. Log into your RefWorks account and open the folder that has the citations you want to add.

·          With your cursor located at the spot in the Word document where you wish to add a citation, flip to the Write-N-Cite window and click on Cite next to the appropriate citation(s).

·          Back in your Word document, put your cursor outside the curly brackets and keep typing; or put the cursor where you want to insert the next citation. If you type inside the brackets, your document will NOT load properly.

·          Save your Word Document, but keep the window open.

·          In the Write-N-Cite window, and click on Bibliography.

·          Choose the Output Style.

·          Click on Create Bibliography. This will create a final document. Double-check the formatted document and Save.

·          Continue working on the document, adding more references as needed.

Create Bibliographies

·          Click the Bibliography menu.

·          Under Output Style, select the appropriate style.

·          Click Format a Bibliography from a List of References.

·          Under File Type, select the file format you wish to create (Text, HTML, Word, etc).

·          Under Include, select All References or References from

·          Click Create Bibliography.

·          Follow your browser's instructions for viewing the file and be sure to save the document to your hard disk before closing.

Refworks Online Tutorial

To learn how to use RefWorks, you can take a short tutorial at www.refworks.com/tutorial/