Skip to main content
Ask A Librarian

Graphic Novels: Finding & Researching Graphic Novels

Finding and researching graphic novels

  Researching Graphic Novels

You will find articles in magazines, journals, and newspapers. You can find articles about graphic novels and manga, as well as illustrators and writers. You may find interviews, discussion, opinions, and book reviews. To do a complete search for relavent articles, you must look in several databases.

When reviewing results, use the Find it @ WVU button if the article does not have a full text, linked full text, or PDF link. If we have the full article in another database, it will lead you there. If we don't have access to the article, you can order it through ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan).

Academic Search Complete covers many subjects and includes scholarly articles, book reviews, and magazine and newspaper articles.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index will lead to scholarly articles in important journals.

Lexis-Nexis Academic provides full text newspaper articles from over 5900 newspapers. 

MLA International Bibliography is a great source for articles about specific graphic novels and graphic novels in general.

Project Muse is a full text humanities database and is another good source for articles.

  Finding Graphic Novels

To view a list of graphic novels the Libraries own, follow this link to a search for graphic novels in the online catalog. You might also be interested in some of the titles that fall under these searches:

Comic books, strips, etc.

subdivision Comic books, strips, etc. under names of individual persons and corporate bodies, uniform titles of sacred works, and under classes of persons, ethnic groups, and topical headings for fictional or nonfiction works in comic strip form, e.g. Bible--Comic books, strips, etc.; and headings for individual comic characters, e.g. Snoopy (Fictitious character)