Skip to main content
Ask A Librarian

Civil & Environmental Engineering: Handbooks & Encyclopaedias

Resources for civil & environmental engineering students and faculty.

General Handbooks at Evansdale Library

Surveying

Heathrow: surveying 1

"Heathrow: surveying 1"  by Wessex Archaeology, uploaded December 13, 2006.  Caption reads, "Terminal 5, Heathrow, has been one of the biggest construction projects in the world. Excavations by Framework Archaeology, in advance of the construction works, have uncovered almost 9,000 years of history.

An archaeologist uses GPS to survey features on the site."

Online Handbooks and Encyclopaedias

WVU Libraries subscribes to some electronic Handbooks and Encyclopedias. 

Access Science:  McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology Online

ASM Handbook

ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics--97th edition

Dictionary of Scientific Biography

Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology

Kirk Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology

Wiley Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering

 

For the following handbooks click on the "Off-Campus" link for off-Campus access.

AASHTO Guide for Design of Pavement Structures  Off-Campus

CRC Handbook of Engineering Tables   Off-Campus

Bridge Engineering Handbook  Off-Campus

Building Design and Construction Handbook  Off-Campus

Civil Engineering Handbook  Off-Campus

Concrete Construction Engineering Handbook  Off-Campus

Corrosion and Chemical Resistant Masonry Materials Handbook  Off-Campus

Environmental Engineers Handbook  Off-Campus

Foundation Engineering Handbook  Off-Campus

Handbook of Groundwater Engineering  Off-Campus

Handbook of Highway Engineering  Off-Campus

Handbook of Structural Engineering, 2nd. ed. 

Handbook of Transportation Engineering. Vol. 1

Handbook of Transportation Engineering.  Vol. 2

Handbook of Transportation Science

Handbook of Water and Wastewater Treatment Technologies  Off-Campus

Highway Engineering Handbook: Building and Rehabilitating the Infrastructure   Off-Campus

Highway Safety Manual

Mark’s Standard Handbook of Mechanical Engineers  Off-Campus

Handbook of Civil Engineering Calculations  Off-Campus

Standard Handbook for Civil Engineers

Structural steel designer's handbook

Philippi Covered Bridge West Virginia

Philippi Covered Bridge

"Philippi Covered Bridge" by J.Stephen Conn uploaded to Flickr.com on 08/16/2008.

This bridge is the oldest existing covered bridge in West Virginia, originally built by Lemuel Chenoweth in 1852 and restored in 1991.

Morgantown Lock and Dam

Morgantown Dam

"Morgantown Dam" created by J. Robinson, uploaded on April 30, 2007.

Discipline Specific Handbooks at Evansdale Library