Research Guides: Civil & Environmental Engineering: Articles

Using Find It @ WVU

Use Find It @ WVU to retrieve the articles not in full text. This application is a button or link in the citation for each article.In the Find it @ WVU window, click on Article to see full text. Click on For Journal to search WorldCat for a print copy.

Find an electronic journal by title, use electronic journals page.

Find an article by citation, use the Citation Linker.

Google Scholar

On Campus subscribed journals can be accessed.

Off campus access

To access the article databases, e-journals, and e-books from off-campus, use the following:

Username = WVU Login
Password = WVU Login password

For help with WVU Login.

Featured Databases

TRID - Transportation Research Information Services This link opens in a new window
TRID is a newly integrated database that combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre's International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRIS provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide.
Civil Engineering Database This link opens in a new window
The Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) is designed to provide bibliographic access to all ASCE publications. The database covers all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newspapers. Journal papers with abstracts go back to 1970. Non-abstract journal records go back to 1958. The book records are complete dating back to the early 1900s. The database is constantly expanded and enriched.
Engineering Village--EiCompendex, Inspec, and GeoBase This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of engineering and technical literature. Includes records with abstracts for journal articles, technical reports and conference papers. 1970-present.
Applied Science and Technology Source (Discontinued) This link opens in a new window
The Libraries' subscription ended on July 1, 2023. For assistance in identifying an alternative resource(s), please email researchservices@mail.wvu.edu.
SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new window
This portion of the SAE Mobilus references thousands of SAE Technical Papers and/or SAE Standards covering the latest advances and research in all areas of mobility engineering including ground vehicle, aerospace, off-highway, and manufacturing technology. Sample coverage includes fuels and lubricants, emissions, electronics, brakes, restraint systems, noise, engines, materials, lighting, and more. Your SAE service includes detailed summaries, complete documents in PDF, plus document storage and maintenance. Full-text access is from 1998 - present for technical papers, and 2007 - 2017 for journal content.

Databases & Indexes

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Offers a good starting point for research on nearly any topic, covering most areas of academic study and containing full text for 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals.
AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
AccessEngineering is a redesign of the online engineering resource formerly known as McGraw-Hill's Digital Engineering Library. The new-user focused design enhances this online resource of engineering content, and will support all levels of scientific and technical research in the corporate, industrial, government and academic sectors.
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Offers thousands of citations and abstracts from the world's research in aquatic sciences. An international network of information centers monitor serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature for content.
ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering. It also includes American Petroleum Institute (API) standards.
Civil Engineering Database This link opens in a new window
The Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) is designed to provide bibliographic access to all ASCE publications. The database covers all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newspapers. Journal papers with abstracts go back to 1970. Non-abstract journal records go back to 1958. The book records are complete dating back to the early 1900s. The database is constantly expanded and enriched.
Engineering Village--EiCompendex, Inspec, and GeoBase This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of engineering and technical literature. Includes records with abstracts for journal articles, technical reports and conference papers. 1970-present.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Subject access to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses, covering the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey and masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities. For engineers it includes engineering geology, enviromental geology, geophysics, and hydrogeology. Coverage: 1785-present (North Amer.)
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
INSPEC is a bibliographic information database covering the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology with more than seven million records taken from 3,500 technical and scientific journals and 1,500 conference proceedings. Coverage is from 1969 to present. The database is updated weekly.INSPEC is produced and maintained by the Institution of Electrical Engineers. It indexes journal articles, conference papers, books, technical reports, and dissertations in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, telecommunications, computers, control technology, and information technology. The database includes information since 1969 and is updated weekly.
SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new window
This portion of the SAE Mobilus references thousands of SAE Technical Papers and/or SAE Standards covering the latest advances and research in all areas of mobility engineering including ground vehicle, aerospace, off-highway, and manufacturing technology. Sample coverage includes fuels and lubricants, emissions, electronics, brakes, restraint systems, noise, engines, materials, lighting, and more. Your SAE service includes detailed summaries, complete documents in PDF, plus document storage and maintenance. Full-text access is from 1998 - present for technical papers, and 2007 - 2017 for journal content.
TRID - Transportation Research Information Services This link opens in a new window
TRID is a newly integrated database that combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre's International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRIS provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index, and is made available with funding from the WVU Research Corp. Web of Science provides access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of high impact research journals from around the world. It also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. Coverage: 1976-present

Patent & Trademark Librarian

Martin Dunlap

Email Me

Contact:

Po Box 6105

304-293-0314

Subjects: Engineering

Robert C. Byrd Locks & Dam

"Robert C. Byrd Locks & Dam IMG_4910" by OZinOH uploaded April 24, 2009.