Skip to main content
Ask A Librarian

Public Health for Public Health Graduate Students: Articles

Public Health Graduate Seminar PUBH 687 Practicum Proposal PUBH 691 Public Health Internship

Find books & articles at WVU

Public Health Databases

PubMed PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's gateway to MEDLINE, a National Library of Medicine bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,200 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries.

    Tutorial for PubMed

MEDLINE (EbscoHost) MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from over 4,800 current biomedical journals

CINAHL
CINAHL with Full Text is a major research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature, with more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1982. The database provides full text for more than 550 nursing & allied health journals indexed in CINAHL, of which nearly 400 have cover-to-cover indexing.

     CINAHL User Guide


 

High Impact Journals

Using Find It @ WVU

Use Find It @ WVU to retrieve articles that do not have a full text link.

This link is at the bottom of each article citation.

In the Find It @ WVU window, click on Article to see full text.  Click on For Journal to search WorldCat for a print copy.  If WVU does not have an electronic or print copy, you can order the article through ILLiad.

Other Useful Databases

Academic Search Complete- Offers a good starting point for research on nearly any topic, covering most areas of academic study and containing full text for 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals.

Business Source Premier - Business research database, providing full text for 8,800 periodicals, including 1,100 peer-reviewed publications, plus company profiles. Subjects covered include marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.

China Data Online The China Data Center at the University of Michigan is a national center designed to advance the study and understanding of China. Included are national, regional and local, as well as economic, health, social and historical statistics, in addition to census data.                                                                                          

Dissertation Abstracts Online- Dissertations and theses from institutions in North America and Europe, including abstracts for those written from 1980 to the present and covering all subject areas for which thesis research is conducted. Dissertations identified through this database may be borrowed through the WVU Libraries Interlibrary Loan Service, Illiad, or they may be ordered directly from Dissertation Express at http://disexpress.umi.com.

Evidence Database on Aging Care (EDAC) - The Evidence Database is regularly updated by a professional staff of contributors that filters, reviews, and catalogues articles published in professional journals both in the U.S. and abroad. An advisory committee of experts in gerontology, social work research, and database methods provides consultation and assistance in the selection of topics for inclusion in the database.

HAPI (Health & Psychosocial Instruments)- Health and Psychosocial Instruments provides access to information on measurement instruments (i.e. questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information sciences. It assists researchers, practitioners, students and others in identifying measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, and other uses.

Journal Citation Reports- Journal impact factors and citation data for 7,500 scholarly and technical journals. Citation and article counts are important indicators of how frequently current researchers are using individual journals. By tabulating and aggregating citation and article counts, JCR offers a unique perspective for journal evaluation and comparison.

Mental Measurements and Tests in Print Yearbook- A comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments, produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska.

PsycINFO- Contains two million references and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in the field of psychology. Journal coverage, which spans from 1872 to the present, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 35 languages. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.

PsychiatryOnline- Web portal that includes the DSM-IV-TR and a selection of journals, practice guidelines and textbooks.