Skip to main content
Ask A Librarian

Engineering (General): Home

Resources for information related to general engineering.

Tools of the Past

GPS circa 1710

"GPS circa 1710" by noinkstains on Uploaded 9/9/2008.

Quick Links

Suggestions & Requests


Engineering applies science and mathematics to solve practical problems from everyday life. Engineering uses physics, chemistry, materials science, mechanics, thermodynamics, systems analysis and mathematics to create a new and optimal solution. 

This guide presents different tools available to engineers: books, articles, and handbooks and encyclopaedias.  Other tools will be added later.

News: USPTO Event

Come!  Learn from the masters!

The Health Sciences Innovation Center and the WVU Libraries will cosponsor an event on Thursday, September 29, 2016 at the Evansdale Library.

Representatives from the United States Patent & Trademark Office will introduce intellectual property and will provide hands-on training for patent and trademark searching.

Panel discussion from WVU Services will also take place to highlight programs offered at WVU.

Registration for this event is now available at the following link:

Refreshments and lunch will be provided.  A 4:30 reception to conclude the day’s event. Please mark your calendar to come for all or part of the day.

New Engineering Databases


Selected titles from the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) publications list: AIAA Meeting Papers, AIAA Journal, Journal of Aircraft, Journal of Guidance, Control, and Dynamics, and Journal of Spacecraft and Rockets.

Engineering Case Studies Online

Hundreds of hours of video and thousands of pages of text resources to meet the growing needs of engineering programs worldwide. The collection provides in-depth coverage for engineering case studies and failures, from the Titanic to the Challenger space shuttle explosion, to help students and scholars understand each case's valuable takeaways.


Landolt-Börnstein Database is a systematic database of selected and critically assessed data in the physical sciences. It provides access to more than 250,000 substances & material systems, 3,000 properties and more than 1,2 million literature references. Search for substances or element systems, properties, molecular formulas or CAS registry numbers.


Remember the login has changed to your MyID and MyID password.


News: Engineer Live (British)


News: ScienceDaily



News: Science


Patent & Trademark Librarian

Marian Armour-Gemmen
Evansdale Library
Website / Blog Page

Ask A Librarian